Doing Georgian Ojakhuri – Part 2

IMG_0501b

When I woke up this morning I was momentarily “pris de panique”.  The problem with cooking in parts is that if you screw it up, you can’t just not post, something has to be said.  That’s almost like pressure!  We don’t like pressure around this blog, so I decided that if I screwed it up, I’d take pictures anyway and rename my blog, Cooking in Hell.  Panic vanquished!  I did not screw up but at least I had a plan :)

IMG_0524b

Besides looking and sounding delicious, the ojakhuri’s pork preparation and cooking techniques are similar to the ones used for Haitian griot http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/01/27/haitian-griot/.  I knew this was going to be good!

IMG_0472b

This is the second recipe I have tried from Georgia About  http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/07/20/lobio-a-georgian-bean-dish/ and I’d just like to say that Georgians know how to cook and eat real food!  Georgian cuisine is new to me but I find the exotic spices, preparation methods and it’s down home deliciousness exciting and well worth exploring.  Whoever is in charge of the blog awards, please give Georgia About a “Real Food” award.  The ojakhuri was delicious, fairly easy to make and I’m sure I could serve it to M. “I only eat French” Parret and he would have seconds, maybe thirds.  This was so good that I refrigerated the leftover cooking marinade to pour over something.

Thank you Bassa.

IMG_0553b

Cooking Ojakhuri

Take the pork out of the refrigerator about an hour before you are ready to cook http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2013/03/05/doing-georgian-ojakhuri-part-i/ .  Add 1/4 cup of white wine and 1/4 cup water.  Bring to a boil and then simmer for 1 to 1 1/2 hours, stirring occasionally.

Peel and cube 1 lb of potatoes and fry to a golden brown.  Set aside and keep warm.

Remove the pork from the marinade with a slotted spoon and discard the bay leaves.  Fry the pork in a large non stick frying pan until brown and crusty.  Serve immediately with the potatoes and sliced onions.   

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Doing Georgian Ojakhuri – Part 2

  1. Tessa says:

    Looks fabulous! I bet the leftover pork (if any) would taste wonderful wrapped up in a warm tortilla.

  2. Oh yes, definitely real, and very good food!

  3. That turned out very well. I love how overnight marinating does most of the work for you! So, really…all you had to do was simmer it?

  4. My French Heaven says:

    This makes me so damn hungry!!

  5. Conor Bofin says:

    I love the waking up in fright. Though, not as much as I love the dish. Lovely indeed.

  6. Mad Dog says:

    I never doubted you, but you’re not cooking in Sens or hell (I think…).

  7. That does sound fantastic. Nice one.

  8. Looking gorgeous, Rosemary, of course! No need for a re-name… yet :D. I jest, of course!

  9. Bassa's Blog says:

    I am so pleased that it turned out so well! Thank you again for the very lovely comments about Georgia About blog. We will publish more Georgian recipes soon.

  10. Bassa's Blog says:

    Reblogged this on Georgia About and commented:
    Part 2 of the Ojakhuri experience.

  11. Looks divine!!! Your hunch about M. Parret is a great endorsement indeed!

    Btw, I miss their appearance on your blog!

Leave a Reply

