Open Faced Egg Salad Sandwich

IMG_0325b

I arrived in Stuttgart last September and one of the first curiosities I noticed in the supermarkets’ fresh egg section was colored eggs.  I thought to myself, that’s bizarre, I wonder what the deal is, then incuriously turned the page.

IMG_0239b

Later on I happened upon a blog, I forget which one, that explained that the colored eggs in Germany were hard boiled eggs.  Huh, I thought, that can’t be good.  They’ll probably be hard to peel and have that unsightly greenish/black ring around the yolk.

IMG_0255b

Easy to peel.

IMG_0283b

Perfectly cooked.

Still, what do they do with all these eggs?  They take them on picnics.  These are called picnic eggs and apparently, the Germans are so busy going on picnics that they don’t have time to boil eggs :D  If I could only convince them to boil quail eggs.

Egg salad

8 hard boiled eggs, chopped

2 tbsp chives, chopped

1 celery branch, sliced

1 1/2 tbsp French cornichons, chopped

1 heaping tbsp grain mustard

Salt and pepper

Mayonnaise to desired consistency

Mix everything together and mound on bread slices.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Recipes, Salad, Sandwich and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Open Faced Egg Salad Sandwich

  1. Yum. There is nothing better than a well made egg sandwich!

  2. Mad Dog says:

    I suspect they come from Easter eggs originally. It’s an old tradition to dye eggs in the Greek Orthodox church:
    http://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/2011/04/24/easter-eggs/
    I think they used to just do red, but now it’s all the colours of the rainbow.
    Yours look great ;-)

  3. Very pretty, I thought they were just for Easter too. Love a good egg sandwich :)

  4. chefconnie says:

    The colored eggs make sense as they are like Easter Eggs. Such pretty pictures as usual.

  5. acrusteaten says:

    Oh the Germans, so efficient in every way.

  6. These are beautiful! I like that they do this year round. Very festive. :)

  7. Mona says:

    How pretty! That yolk is perfect.

  8. soulpattern says:

    my favorite quick protein fix :)

  9. Bahaha. That is excellent.

  10. That is AWESOME! And I have to say that it is amazing to think about perfectly hard-boiling that many eggs. Let alone coloring them! I would totally keep a dozen in my fridge at all times, picnic or no picnic!

  11. Tessa says:

    How cool is that? Beautiful and perfectly cooked!

  12. oh how cute..yet another way us americans are uncool compared to the rest of the culinary world :) …love egg salad recipe, looks just beautiful…lovely post..sarah

    • Thank you Sarah. As a huge melting pot of many cultures, you would have thought we’d have the best of everything but I think what we’ve done is, while readily adopting other cuisines, we then adapt them, flavors and ingredients, to the familiar. Take Tex-Mex.

  13. Oh yes spring is here! your egg salad sandwiches look delicious.

  14. rsmacaalay says:

    How convenient, its already cooked. I would think like that as well, having the color bleeding inside and hard to peel

  15. I love the idea and they look so cute !

Leave a Reply

