Sometimes I’m Very Hungry

IMG_9999b

I was going to fry an egg for the top but I couldn’t wait.

Steak, Mushrooms and Onions

1/2 onion, sliced

2 tbsp butter

1/2 lb mushrooms

2-3 sprigs fresh thyme

1 rib steak, seasoned with salt, pepper and garlic powder

Saute the onion in the butter until just tender, then add the mushrooms and saute for 2-3 minutes.  Stir in the thyme and set aside, keeping warm.

Sear the steak to taste and serve with the mushrooms.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Sometimes I’m Very Hungry

  1. Simple and delicious. I’ll have to try steak with an egg on it sometime. I see it a lot so it must be good.

  2. Mona says:

    I love steak and eggs. And burgers and eggs. And a burger stacked on mashed potatoes, all topped with an egg. Haha.

  3. I like eggs with just about everything. This looks simple and delicious.

  4. Looks excellent, one of my favorite dishes! YUM! :)

  5. cecilia says:

    This is a perfect dinner for me, if i am alone for tea, this is exactly the dinner I make, with a pile of lettuce and a crisp white wine.. bliss.. c

  6. Mushrooms, onions and steak…Is there anything better? No.

  7. Some bacon in with the mushrooms and onion works a treat too…

  8. Conor Bofin says:

    Very nice. We used to work with an accountant who would ask for a fried egg on top of his steak whenever he was out at a special occasion. For him, the fried egg was the special bit. As I type this, I am getting a hankering for egg and chips. I have not had that in decades.

  9. Karen says:

    With a steak that looks that good who needs the egg.

  10. Tessa says:

    I’d have that for breakfast :)…

  11. I’m hungry just looking at it! I love mushrooms with my steak. Actually, I love anything mushroom. :) Lovely post, thanks for sharing.

  12. I can’t believe I’m saying this, but that doesn’t even need the egg. I know, I know. I’m just such a dainty eater.

  13. Doesn’t need it, Rosemary! that looks yummy!

  14. rsmacaalay says:

    Lol you are really hungry! Usually when I am hungry I am patient specially if someone will serve something way much better

  15. mushroomscanada says:

    This meal always hits the spot!! Gotta love steak with mushrooms! Thanks for sharing…

    -Shannon

  16. Literally drooling at every one of your blog posts! Everything looks so delicious.

Leave a Reply

