Real Beef American Ribs

IMG_9661b

What concerns me most about the beef mixed with horse meat controversy is not that people were eating horse meat, the French do it all the time and it’s expensive!  It’s the mislabeling of the products, taking away the public’s choice.  Scarier still, how were those horses raised?  Were they well fed, in good health or just road kill?  Potentially gross!

IMG_9693b

A German government Minister in a statement about the adulterated products, “Give them to the poor, we can’t just throw away good food!”  That’s right Mr. Minister, be yourself!  I love these mind snatching incidents when true feelings will out :D  No one can  accuse him of insincere sensitivity, no sir!   I’ll be home grinding all my mince from now on and frozen meat products won’t pass customs here, Roger.

IMG_9558b

I’d really like to grill something, not particularly horse, but something.  Unfortunately, I don’t have a grill.  Actually, I have lots of grills, just not here.  I thought my husband had shipped the one from South Sudan to Germany but apparently not.  I need a Germany grill.  Now.  I’m going to have to clean the oven again :(

IMG_9602b

The ribs I made today are real beef American ribs procured from the U.S. military commissary by my commissary-loving husband.  USDA, quoi.  Which means that although you might detect the presence of growth hormones, miscellaneous drugs and animal based feed, you’ll find no “My Little Pony” in our lasagna.  Uh-uh, we don’t play that!

IMG_9676b

He also found some Mississippi barbecue sauce labeled “Real American Barbecue”, sweet and spicy from Fremont, Ohio with the second ingredient listed after the tomato concentrate being high fructose corn syrup.  Boy howdy, we’re eating right today!  He-has-got-to-step-away-from-the-commissary!

IMG_9606b

Anyway.  My celeriac and parsnips were calling out from the crisper, “Eat us before it’s too late!  Remember what happened to the iceberg lettuce!”  So I made a little celeriac-parsnip casserole.  Tasty!

IMG_9588b

Real American Beef Ribs

2 slabs of beef ribs, seasoned with Emeril’s essence

Real American barbecue sauce

Place the ribs in a 150F oven on a rack for 1 hour, turn and cook for another hour.  Remove and slather with barbecue sauce, turn the oven up to 350 F and continue cooking for 15 minutes.

Celeriac Parsnip Casserole

1 lb parsnips, peeled and sliced

2 cups celeriac, cubed

Chicken broth

2 scallions, sliced

2 tbsp butter

2-3 sprigs thyme leaves

Salt and pepper

Parmesan cheese

Bread crumbs

Boil the parsnips in the chicken broth for 2 minutes, then add the celeriac and continue to boil for 8-10 minutes.  Drain, reserving the broth.  Saute the scallions in the butter and add to the celeriac mixture, along with the thyme, salt and pepper and a ladle full of reserved broth.  Mash.

Butter an oven dish, add the celeriac mixture, then sprinkle with the cheese and bread crumbs.  Bake in a 350 F oven until browned and crusty on top.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Real Beef American Ribs

  1. Beautiful looking ribs. I assume these are beef short rib? I agree about the horse meat issue. I have no problem with the product, it’s where it comes from. Hence I never eat sausages, burgers or square ham!! When was the last time you saw a square pig.

  2. Simply Tia says:

    These ribs look fantastic!

  3. I guess what you’ve highlighted in quoting the minister is something else no one seems to have mentioned yet in the unfolding of this scandal: the huge wastage of food that is happening because of it. The horrendous number of animals minced for nothing because of the unscrupulous acts of some people involved in their “processing”. I wonder how they are disposing of it all, or if it really is getting shipped off somewhere where food regulations aren’t as stringent.

    I too have no particular objection to horse meat per se, but it’s true that we need to know what is really in our food.

    Well, I wouldn’t know the difference between beef or horse ribs, but the above definitely look tasty! :)

    • Thank you lemonade. The minister wanted to give it to the German poor. I can’t really see them shipping it to third world countries because I think the products were “heat and serve”, probably microwavable, and that would present a problem where universal electricity is not a given. I wish more people would focus on the dishonesty involved and not so much on their disgust with minced pony.

  4. chefconnie says:

    This post makes me laugh. It is seriously sick how in the US large businesses feel no shame in adulterating food. I wonder if the executives of these companies eat thier own products??? My kids love BBQ sauce and when I found out how much high fructose corn syrup there was in it I started making my own. It is pretty easy. I remember shopping at the commissary when my hubs was in the military. It was always intersting…

  5. Mad Dog says:

    I’ve eaten horse a few times and it’s very good. However, other than minced, it’s relatively easy to tell the difference, it’s very lean and unless it’s a good cut it will probably be tough. I’m quite sure that the problem lies with “filler”, additional minced meat that is used to bulk up beef mince. It should all be beef or labeled accordingly.
    Personally, if I was hungry and broke, I’d be grateful for the Findus or Birdseye products. I’d be less excited by cheap burgers, but I don’t like burgers. My preference though and what should be encouraged is cooking from scratch everyday. I don’t buy ready meals and I’m sure you don’t either ;-)
    Back to the topic at hand – those are delicious looking ribs!

    • Thank you. If I was hungry and broke, I’d still want to know what I was eating and then I’d most likely go ahead and eat it. But I’d still want to know, Mad. I haven’t had horse yet. I intended to try some while I was in France but never got around to it. Maybe next visit home. You’re right, I don’t buy ready made meals. Now I just have to stop my husband from buying them :D

  6. Love this! Loving the story behind the real beef american ribs, very witty.

  7. My French Heaven says:

    Unbelievable! I have to try this soon!!! Thanks for sharing!!

  8. Yes, I would worry more about how the horses were treated and where they came from than actually eating them.

    Your horse-free USDA ribs look great, Rosemary!

  9. Conor Bofin says:

    Great ribs Rosemary. The horse meat thing just rolls on and on. The price difference between the two meats is the reason for the deception. That and greed and active or passive dishonesty at various points along the buying chain. I remember asking myself “How do IKEA manage to sell a plate of meatballs at that price?” Now we know the answer.
    Best,
    Conor

  10. Exactly why I source my meat as ethically as possible – now more than ever. lovely ribs, by the way!

  11. nopisyarifa says:

    Reblogged this on nopisyarifa and commented:
    wih

  12. Oh WOW, what a looker! Those are gorgeous ribs, thanks for sharing your recipe.

  13. Good to hear that our German neighbours haven’t lost their sensitivity for which they are renowned. Those ribs do look good – don’t mention that to the La Moussiere customs officer or I’m in trouble. I might as well start eating pet poodles.

  14. rsmacaalay says:

    All I can say is that is mouth watering!

  15. Effing love ribs of any description!

  16. Gorgeous looking ribs! And that casserole, very interesting! Parsnips usually end up in chicken soup here. Totally agree, the problem is not the meat, it is the misleading!

  17. Michelle says:

    You’re on a roll. Great post. Great comments. And, wow, do those ribs look good—HFCS BBQ sauce and all. (Mississippi BBQ? Who knew?)

Leave a Reply

