R.S.’s Crispy Pata – Part 3

IMG_9438b

Hysterics aside, I deep fried R.S.’s crispy pata.  http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2013/02/22/doing-r-s-s-crispy-pata-part-2/.  It was no worse than frying a fatty, skin on chicken.  However, you do need to fry with a cover because the skin “burps”.

IMG_9459b

Coming to my senses, I decided to use the “big black” and a Farberware top for deep frying.  A few hours before frying, I sprinkled the shanks with salt and some Emeril’s essence to insure a crisp skin.  Worked.

IMG_9385b

Japanese potato salad was perfect for the lunch time pata sandwiches.

IMG_9415b

My one disappointment was that my patas were not golden brown like R.S.’s.  Juicy and succulent, but not golden brown.  Still.

IMG_9425b

R.S.’s Crispy Pata – Part 3

Emeril’s essence

Salt

Peanut oil

Vinegar dip http://panlasangpinoy.com/2011/02/02/crispy-pata-pulutan-recipe/

Remove the the pork shanks from the refrigerator, rub in Emeril’s essence and some salt.  Allow to rest for about 2 hours.

Deep fry the shanks in peanut oil with cover until the skin is crispy.  Serve with vinegar dip.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Sandwich and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to R.S.’s Crispy Pata – Part 3

  1. Mad Dog says:

    They look fantastic nevertheless – I bet they tasted amazing ;-)

  2. Tessa says:

    The crispy patas turned out beautiful! What a great looking lunch!

  3. Lesley says:

    Congratulations – they look delicious! Your hard work paid off beautifully.

  4. Karen says:

    Labor intensive but delicious looking. I’m sure they were as good tasting as they look.

  5. Pam says:

    Frying crispy pata is quite a challenge. Beautiful work and food styling!

  6. I’m loving this series! Like Karen said, labor-intensive, but so worth it!

  7. A lot fo work but oh so good. And I think they look gorgeous :)

  8. That looks absolutely amazing! Congratulations on conquering the deep fry!

  9. Borjok says:

    Oh wow! That looks awesome!

  10. Oh my goodness, that looks AMAZING! I’m drooling here….

  11. joeyhl says:

    This is fantastic! I went to this restaurant in LA for my birthday and they were bragging about this pork dish. I was excited because it got good reviews. When I got my dish, I was like, $30+ for Crispy Pata???!!! Being Filipino, I was laughing because they made it sound so fancy and I knew exactly what it was. I hope you had fun making this. I enjoyed waiting in anticipation for the final result. It looks delicious! I will definitely make it when I have guests over in two weeks. I am excited to use the recipe you used to marinade it in. It looks so tasty! :) If you are afraid of frying, my family uses http://www.tayama-usa.com/FAQ_turbooven.html this convection oven for cooking crispy para, whole chicken, and other stuff. We don’t use oil for it, it allows the fat to drip but it makes it extremely crispy while keeping the juices. THANK YOU for sharing!

  12. rsmacaalay says:

    Nice job, I also make it sometimes as dark as those since its hard to measure the heat of the oil. I dont have a cooking thermometer which leaves a lot of guessing work. Anyways whats important is that is juicy inside and crispy on the outside which I guess you made it spot on.

  13. I missed this somehow, so glad you’re still with us! Looks well worth the effort :)

Leave a Reply

