Doing R.S.’s Crispy Pata – Part 2

IMG_9298b_edited-1

Take the curing pot from the refrigerator http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/doing-r-s-s-crispy-pata-part-1/, place on the stove top, bring to a boil and simmer for 1 hour.  Remove the shanks from the liquid, allow to cool, then place in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours or overnight.

IMG_9348bb

I’m starting to stress about the deep frying  D :

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Doing R.S.’s Crispy Pata – Part 2

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I looked on YouTube – a lot of people do the deep frying in a saucepan with only about 3 inches of oil and a lid. Others cheat and do it in the oven ;-)

  2. Oh my, this is getting exciting. Don’t fear the frying!

  3. Borjok says:

    I love crispy pata! I have not taken a swing at it yet but the way my mom does it is she rubs the pata* (meat) with salt then grills it for a few minutes then freezes them for a few hours before dunking them in to the deep fryer.

  4. Never had this. It seems so very German to me. Looking forward to the final result ….

  5. I’m looking forward to the result

  6. It’s a three part epic! Will stay tuned…

  7. This is looking really good. And yes I hope it isn’t like the DA finale either. It was a sad season!

  8. Karen says:

    I’m looking forward to the next episode…it should be great.

  9. chefconnie says:

    Do not fear frying. You will do fine. Those shanks are enticing. A tall sided pot will do well as will a cast iron dutch oven.

  10. Reblogged this on Aisuka Susumu and commented:
    Oh my god! so tasty!

  11. Paula says:

    I also saw a crispy pata in some blog (perhaps it was Ang Sarap also), and even if I really would like to eat such a crispy meat, and homemade, I’m afraid I don’t make it ok.
    My fear is about deep frying, so I understand you, but I’m sure you’ll show us a perfect crispy pata soon ;)

  12. This looks so great. Why the stress about deep frying?

  13. Pingback: R.S.’s Crispy Pata – Part 3 | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

