Doing R.S.’s Crispy Pata – Part 1

IMG_9179b

A while back, I saw a delicious, fried pork shank at R.S.’s site Ang Sarap http://angsarap.net/2013/02/05/crispy-pata/ and hoped that one day I could try it.  Today’s the day.  I had some amazing, German pork shanks that I found at Fresh Paradise and thought they would be perfect for this recipe.  Going rogue immediately, I decided not to use the ground pepper called for in the recipe but to substitute peppercorns.

IMG_9192b

While looking for the peppercorns, my eyes were dazzled by my colorful mixture of peppercorns and berry spices, I don’t know what you call this in the States, I bought it in France.  In they went, along with lots of garlic and fresh bay leaves.

IMG_9206b

I added the shanks and will refrigerate the pot for 24-48 hours, depending on family activities.

IMG_9217b

While I was putting the pork to cure in the fridge, the insolent glare from my aging cherry tomatoes on the bottom shelf was a bit off-putting!  So that’s what happened to them, the old cherry tomato in the chard dish :)

IMG_9225b

Pork Shank Cure

4 pork shanks

1/2 cup soy sauce

1/2 cup fish sauce

1 1/2 quarts sprite

2 tbsp baking soda

1 whole garlic head, cloves separated, smashed with the flat of a knife and skin removed

1 large onion, quartered

1 1/2 tbsp assorted peppercorns and spice berries

4 tbsp rock salt

6 fresh bay leaves

Stab the pork shanks all over with a knife or cooking fork.  Mix all the rest of the ingredients together, then add the pork and refrigerate for at least 24 hours.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Doing R.S.’s Crispy Pata – Part 1

  1. Colin Brace says:

    This looks hugely promising, and I look forward to enjoying the denouement, albeit it vicariously. I am not going to cheat and go the other site to find out how you *fry* hog shanks (?!?). One question: what is sprite? Not Sprite (TM) I suppose ;)

  2. Nice pictures. I love those little baies roses in your pepper mixture. There very good with fresh goat cheese. In fact, I’ve just thought of a picture.

  3. I’m keen to see the result. I effing love pork shanks… And any conversation where German is involved is always gonna be a winner…

  4. Mad Dog says:

    They look good though the recipe does remind me of the health and safety warning films about deep frying frozen turkey. I hope you’ll be taking pictures during frying ;-)

  5. oh can’t wait to see the finished shanks… i’ll be waiting :) lovely post..sarah

  6. Conor Bofin says:

    I love it. Making up for the later post that I read earlier by posting no dish. If you know what I mean.
    Best,
    Conor

  7. Pingback: Doing R.S.’s Crispy Pata – Part 2 | Cooking in Sens

  8. Sprite? AWESOME!

    And I love the ol’ cherry tomatoes in the chard trick. Works like a charm :-)

  9. rsmacaalay says:

    I am so excited on your take on this crispy pata, nice photos

Leave a Reply

