Porc Filet aux Pommes

IMG_8722b

From my happy freezer, I took out two little 1 lb pork tenderloins thinking about a quick, herbal,  honey mustard roast with apples and leftover sandwiches.  It’s a shame that I didn’t have fresh thyme and rosemary :(  The dried herbs were okay but I like to see that bright green during the preparation.

IMG_8694b

I also still seem to have a problem with identifying cooking apples.  That’s what I like about farmers’ markets; you can ask somebody.  These apples were too soft for roasting and just held their shape.  Still, the flavor was fantastic and the honey, mustard, wine flavored sauce from the pan bottom was perfect to drizzle over the pork slices.

IMG_8742b

Pork Tenderloin with Apples and Onions

2 one pound pork tenderloins

Salt

Pepper

Dried rosemary

2 tbsp melted butter

2 tbsp Dijon mustard

2 tbsp honey

2 cooking apples, cored and sliced into wedges

2 small onions, quartered

Thyme

A squeeze of lemon juice

1 1/2 tbsp melted butter

1/2 cup white wine

Season the pork with salt, pepper and rosemary.  Mix the butter, mustard and honey together, then brush all over the pork.  Reserve the rest for basting.

Toss the apples and onions with some thyme, the lemon juice and butter, then put into the bottom of a roasting pan.  Pour the white wine on top.

Place the tenderloins on top of the apples and roast in a 425 F oven for 20 minutes, baste with the reserved mustard mixture and continue to cook for another 20 minutes.  Serve with parsley new potatoes.

Wine suggestion:  Cremant de Bourgogne

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Porc Filet aux Pommes

  1. Darya says:

    Beautiful. What a fantastic combination of flavors, pork and apples!

  2. Thank you Darya. Don’t forget the onions :)

  3. This dish looks so good. I think the combinations will go great together. If you’re looking for a great beer to go along with this then follow my blog.

  4. I can’t help but say what a pretty plate of food and the combination of ingredients must make this a winner of a dish.

  5. Karista says:

    Looks delicious! I adore pork tenderloin and probably prepare it several times a month. I call them pork medallions but I think your description is much lovlier. “Porc Filet aux Pommes” French is such a romantic language. :)

  6. Beautiful..pork and apples were made for each other and I really should remember this a bit more in Spain where pork tenderloin is so good and so reasonable. Love the wine suggestion too.

    • Of the places I’ve always wanted to eat in the world, Spain has always ranked high. I’ve never been to Spain but plan to remedy that after my husband retires. I plan to eat hard and long ;)

  7. Yum, yum, yum! Tenderloin is reasonable here too, but the meat in Spain is exceptional – particularly the beef and the suckling pig.

  8. rsmacaalay says:

    Apples and pork is such a great combination

  9. Mad Dog says:

    It’s good to hear that your freezer is happy – great pork too ;-)

  10. Pingback: Pork Tenderloin Medallions with Roasted Red Pepper Hazelnut Sauce – Karista's Kitchen

  11. Michelle says:

    I was just getting ready to write that I was glad your freezer was happy. Seems Mad Dog beat me to it. I bet your family was happy to eat that lovely pork with apples, too.

  12. Tessa says:

    Lovely tenderloin! I have not made tenderloin in a while. Looks like a good idea for dinner. Have a great weekend!

  13. Paula says:

    I find funny what you mention about herbs, because at home, I always have some dried herbs, and never use!!
    I don’t like use this, when I can have some fresh and aromatic herbs like rosemary, sage or thyme!

    I love this dish, combination of honey with mustard, and pork with apple conquer me forever.

    By the way, sure one day you’ll visit (and eat in) Spain, I hope you enjoy it!!! :)

  14. Hi !
    I ♥ your blog and I have nominated you with this award!

    http://vinca11.wordpress.com/2013/02/18/awards-2013/

    It’s ok whether you choose to join in or not; just wanna thank you for the great blog that you put up. I’m totally enjoying reading your posts daily ♥

  15. Rosemary can you give me a call. This is Vonzel 93 219-6099

  16. Sorry 913-219-6099 in about and hour

Leave a Reply

