Hoisin Chicken, Spinach and Quail Eggs

IMG_8680b

Our son shares an hilarious philosophical exchange with a colleague:

Me: As long as you learn from your mistakes then it’s fine. I mean if you keep making the same mistakes even though you fess up to them, you know…that’s….

Him: Well technically, that’s an idiot. If you can’t learn, you’re an idiot.

Me: Actually, yeah.

IMG_8613b

So, the very first thing I looked for when I went shopping in France was quail eggs.  The brand of eggs I’ve found here so far don’t seem to be quite fresh and I’ve sashayed in and out of France, at least two times, without remembering to get some.  But I can learn :)

IMG_8618

I wanted to make tea eggs but I didn’t have any loose tea.  Cruising the shelves of the pantry, I found some eye catching tea bags that I decided to tear open and use.  I wonder where my husband found these?  Of course my tea eggs won’t be correctly ready until tomorrow but they were fine with the chicken and spinach today :)  For the quail eggs, find the recipe here  http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/07/06/two-for-tea-green-tea-soba-noodles-and-gunpowder-tea-quail-eggs/.  Use whatever kind of tea you want.

IMG_8646b

I love spinach and most green vegetables!  I could probably become a vegetarian, that is, if meat didn’t exist :D

IMG_8663b

Hoisin Chicken with Spinach Stir Fry

3 boned and skinned chicken breasts, sliced

2 tbsp hoisin sauce

2 tbsp sake

1 tbsp honey

1 tbsp soy sauce

1 tsp sesame oil

1 tsp five spice powder

3 tbsp peanut oil

1 small onion, halved and sliced thin

3 garlic cloves, slivered

1 inch fresh ginger, slivered

1/4 tsp chili paste

1/2 tsp salt

1 bag baby spinach

1/4 tsp sugar

1/4 tsp sesame oil

Make a marinade for the chicken by mixing the hoisin, sake, honey, soy sauce, 1 tsp sesame oil and the five spice powder together.  Marinate for at least 2 hours then drain, reserving the marinade.

Heat 2 tbsp of the peanut oil in a wok and add the onion, garlic, ginger, paste and salt.  Stir fry until the onions are wilted and golden brown.  Add the spinach and stir fry until just wilted, then remove from the flame and add the sugar and 1/4 tsp sesame oil.  Remove the spinach from the wok and keep warm.

Add the remaining tablespoon of peanut oil to the wok and stir fry the chicken until cooked through.  Add the reserved marinade and simmer for about 3 minutes.  Serve with the spinach, tea quail eggs and, if desired, cooked rice or noodles.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Hoisin Chicken, Spinach and Quail Eggs

  1. trangquynh says:

    the dish looks lovely and delicious, I love the quail eggs, they’re so tiny and cute ^^ Have a nice week and thank you for the amazing recipe xD

  2. That’s excellent. I’ve got to stock up on Chinese flavours.

  3. I got so excited when I read thi srecipe as on my last trip to London I stopped off en route at a large Chinese supermarket and have all the ingredients for this wonderful dish! And like you, I could easily become vegetarian if it just wasn’t for meat!

  4. This meal looks amazing, you presentation is top notch. IF you are looking for a great beer to try with this follow my blog

  5. Mad Dog says:

    Excellent, though I hope the eggs don’t taste like Robert Redford and Meryl Streep ;-)

  6. That looks really rather deeeeelish, Rosemary!

  7. Colin Brace says:

    Serendipity! I bought a box of quail eggs the other day and have been trying to decide what to do with them. Tea eggs it will be. Thank you! I’ve made tea eggs before, many years ago, when I was on a Chinese food kick.

    Sometimes I feel I have been away from the US for too long; I don’t get the joke about Redford and Streep :(

  8. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely Rosemary. The old expression “out of the mouths of babes….”

  9. Michelle says:

    I love the vision of you “sashaying” in and out of France. Beautiful meal.

  10. Ooooh, yum! A side of rice sounds fabulous with this dish. Delicious!

  11. purabinaha says:

    Wowie! Asian food always fascinates me. Loved your version!!

    http://cosmopolitancurrymania.blogspot.in/

  12. rsmacaalay says:

    That would be cool quail tea eggs, I usually do mine with duck or chicken eggs never tried on quail.
    Anyways I await for you tea egg recipe, nice recipe post for today as usual.

  13. Chinese Five Spice has become one of my favorite spice mixtures and this dish sounds really great! Love the color on that spinach and, too. I’ve never tried a tea egg…sounds intriguing and those quail eggs are so beautiful.

  14. Looks wonderful, Rosemary! How I love it when you include quail eggs :-)

  15. Sam says:

    OH wow this looks yum. You are so lucky to live in France!

  16. Yum! You really do take some fab photos!

  17. Pingback: Hoisin Duck salad with ginger and fresh coriander |

  18. Pingback: Rice with Teriyaki Quail | Daily EZ Cooking

Leave a Reply

