Winter Ham Stew with Steamed Cabbage

IMG_8340b

As I said to Cecilia  http://thekitchensgarden.com/ the other day, “wine is medicine”, but I also find food preparation a type of restorative.  As I removed leftover Christmas ham from the freezer, emptied the refrigerator of fading celery and leeks, added onion and some very pretty garlic, chopped and sliced, I began to feel more like myself!  Healed!  Hallelujah :D

IMG_8268

I mean, I laughed out loud when I saw my cone head cabbage in the crisper, waiting for it’s chance to shine.

IMG_8303b

I made a nice cozy stew from these gleanings and felt almost as right as the rain/snow that was falling.  Whatever that means.

IMG_8397b

Winter Ham Stew with Steamed Cabbage

2 small onions, halved and sliced

3 large garlic cloves, chopped

1 large celery branch, sliced

1 large leek, sliced

2 tbsp butter

3 cups cooked ham, diced

1 bay leaf

1/2 – 1 tsp dried thyme

1 can diced tomatoes

2 cups chicken broth

2 cans chickpeas, drained

Steamed cabbage wedges

Saute the onions, garlic, celery and leek in the butter for 3 minutes, add the ham and continue to cook for another 5 minutes.  Add the bay leaf, thyme, tomatoes and broth, bring to a boil, then simmer for 30 minutes.  Add the chickpeas and continue to simmer for another 20-30 minutes.  Taste and season with salt and pepper.  Serve hot with the cabbage.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Soup and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Winter Ham Stew with Steamed Cabbage

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Yum! I did a similar but different thing with my Christmas ham leftover last year and made pea and ham soup ;-)

  2. Conor Bofin says:

    I love the use of English. Right as rain….
    Best,
    Conor

  3. your stew looks just wonderful..my mom would just love this…lovely post..sarah

  4. My French Heaven says:

    Gorgeous china as always

  5. chefconnie says:

    When I scroll down my reader in WordPress and come to your posts I always give a little gasp at your pictures. So very lovely……

  6. Great pics as always. What sort of camera do you use??

  7. Karista says:

    I adore the light in your photographs. Makes me feel as if I’m sitting in your kitchen watching you cook. Delicious recipe and so perfect for this time of year. :)

  8. So glad you are feeling better. This is so very much my kind of dish. Loved that pointy cabbage!

  9. Keep taking the medicine – it’s making your pictures look good:)

  10. acrusteaten says:

    Leftovers thrown together often produce the best and most surprising results. Did a veggie version this week with the same type of cabbage, mushrooms, carrots, and anything else in my fridge that looked like it was on its last legs, then added in some beans and grains for a bit of extra bulk. Always so comforting!

  11. Karen says:

    Nice photos of a tasty looking stew. Our freezers really do help us out when we don’t feel like we are able to get to the markets. Glad you were feeling better and continue to improve.

  12. Wonderful… I feel in need of wine at the mo. Never mind though. Just looking at this beautiful dish restores me, Rosemary.

  13. Amy Tong says:

    What a gorgeous stew and a cute cabbage! hahaha…this stew must be wonderful for a cold winter night. I agree, cooking and baking are definitely therapeutic for me.

  14. You are my role model when it comes to photos. I know I’ve said this before, but (as I struggle to learn my new camera), I marvel at your ability to capture both artistic beauty and make the food look tasty in all your photos.

  15. rsmacaalay says:

    Thats an odd looking cabbage, was it really like that or is that the inside of it. Anyways love this stew, very nice for a cold weather

  16. I feel the same way! Life has just been swamping me lately since the New Year, so I have been so lazy about cooking. But I when I push myself to do it, I instantly feel so much better.

    Ham stew sounds so good right now. And that cone-shaped cabbage is a hoot. Never saw that before!

Leave a Reply

