Salmon with Cauliflower Puree

IMG_8232b

I’ve been fighting a losing battle against some kind of flu and my family has been eating some really garbagey things from the commissary; frozen pizza and lasagna, hot dogs, macaroni and cheese.   They didn’t mind but I did :(  That’s why I dragged myself to the kitchen today, determined to make something that wouldn’t keep me in the kitchen over long, but that would take the frown off my face as I watched them eat.

IMG_8223b

Salmon with Cauliflower Puree

Boil the florets from a large head of cauliflower in chicken broth for 10 minutes, drain and reserve a little of the broth.  Add a lump of butter to the drained cauliflower with salt and pepper, then mash with a little of the reserved broth.

Season 4 salmon fillets with salt and pepper, then put in a ziplock with some olive oil and balsamic or white wine vinegar and marinate for 30 minutes.  Sear the salmon in a hot skillet and serve with the cauliflower.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Salmon with Cauliflower Puree

  1. This looks delicious! So glad to have come accross your blog, I am looking forward to reading more. Hope you are feeling better soon!

  2. cecilia says:

    This lovely dish you can eat too, poor you being sick, probably made you sicker watching them eat frozen pizza and hot dogs! I would have taken to my bed too. You must be on the mend .. I hope you allowed yourself a nice glass of wine with the salmon.. c

  3. OH no – well make sure you don’t lose it too badly. It’s best if I go first; you’ll get my skillet. Lovely looking fish!

  4. Mad Dog says:

    Well done you for making them some real food. I’ve never done cauliflower purée, but it sounds great!
    Get well soon :-)

  5. Hope you are better soon.

  6. gwynnem says:

    This looks so simple but includes some of my favorite flavors. Can’t wait to give it a try. Thanks for the inspiration.

  7. Hi There!

    First, let me introduce myself. My name is Amanda Garbutt and I am the Owner & Co-Founder of The Hot Plate (www.thehotplate.com). I found your blog and could not stop drooling over the photos! The Hot Plate is a free community for the hungriest Food Lovers on the web, and I’d love to have you share your recipes with us!

    The Hot Plate has lots of ways for you to promote and share your recipes with thousands of Food Lovers across the world! Now you can:

    - Promote your recipes and blog by submitting them to our THP Loved Photo Section (if you use Foodgawker and Tastespotting you know the drill)

    - Be part of the webs fastest growing community of hand picked Food Lovers

    If you have any questions or comments do not hesitate to let me know!

    Happy Cooking,
    Amanda

  8. I always forget that cauliflower can make a great low carb substitution for mashed potatoes!

  9. Pooh to the lurgy but hurrah for the cauliflower puree – wishing you well very soon!

  10. Delicious! I can’t imagine what you’d have done had you been feeling 100% ;) love you blog and missed your posts the last few days…get well soon!
    P.S I hope you didn’t mind that I mentioned you site in one of my earlier posts, keep sending us these gorgeous meals!

  11. Karista says:

    So sorry you’ve been ill! We had a round of it all a few weeks ago. Thought I’d never get back into the kitchen. What a lovely salmon and one of my favorite ways to eat cauliflower. Delicious!

  12. Lesley says:

    I’m a huge fan of cauliflower puree – the first time I made it for my husband, he couldn’t believe it! Wonderful recipe and I do hope you feel better soon!

  13. Michelle says:

    Glad to see that, even if under the weather, you can still cook and photograph a beautiful meal! I really like vegetable purées, too. And cauliflower is a good one.

  14. I don’t see why that shouldn’t work with broccoli – that’s tomorrow sorted:)

  15. Healthy and, no doubt,delicious!

  16. rsmacaalay says:

    That salmon and its glaze looks so appetizing

  17. Bassa's Blog says:

    I hope you feel better soon.

  18. I hope you’re feeling better, Rosemary! This looks wonderful, and is especially impressive that you put it together and photographed it beautifully while under the weather.

Leave a Reply

