Roasted Asian Lamb Shanks with Sweet Potatoes

IMG_8183b

I had 3 Welsh lamb shanks in the freezer and took my inspiration from this wonderful recipe at BBC’s Good Food http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/67613/vietnamese-lamb-shanks-with-sweet-potatoes.

IMG_8170b

I chose to roast this in one of my tajines with cover and adjusted a few of the ingredients but was fairly faithful to the recipe.  A perfect, delicious marriage of lamb, Asian flavors and sweet potatoes!  Chopstick/fork tender.  I froze the rest of this to serve with rice on Saturday when the family returns.

IMG_8209b

Roasted Asian Lamb Shanks with Sweet Potatoes

3 lamb shanks, seasoned with salt and pepper

1 tbsp sesame oil

1 tbsp peanut oil

2 onions, quartered

5 garlic cloves, sliced

2 tbsp fresh ginger, chopped

2 red chillies, seeded and vertically sliced

2 tbsp sugar

3 star anise

1 quart veal stock

1 1/2 tbsp tomato paste

2 large sweet potatoes, cut into large chaos chunks

2 tbsp fish sauce

Juice of one lime

Brown the shanks in a skillet with the oil, remove and place in a roasting pan with a cover.  Add the onions, garlic, ginger and chillies to the skillet and cook stirring until aromatic.  Add the sugar and star anise, then stir for 2 minutes.  Blend in the stock and paste, pour over the shanks, cover and roast in a 350 F oven for 1 1/2 hour.  Stir in the sweet potatoes, fish sauce and lime juice, then continue to roast for an additional hour.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Roasted Asian Lamb Shanks with Sweet Potatoes

  1. Very good! Yum, yum, yum – looks delicious and it’s Welsh :D – good to see I’m having an influence.

  2. delicious! I bought sweet potatoes yesterday at the market here in Trinidad and was thinking about what I’d do with them, this answers that question! Will try this today, maybe with chicken instead. Thanks!

  3. Jon says:

    Looks and sounds delicious!

  4. oh this sounds delicious..i’ve never paired seet potatoes and lamb..will have to give it a try soon..lovely post..sarah

  5. Karen says:

    Love the flavor of roasted lamb shanks. I’m sure your dish with the Asian flavors was terrific.

  6. Mad Dog says:

    Sounds fantastic – where did you get the Welsh lamb?

  7. They do look good. I think I ate too much meat in London, which is not a good plan for someone who rarely eats meat. When I’m recovered it’s got to be the lamb shanks – Jenny gets the gravy and vegetables:)

  8. Conor Bofin says:

    One of my favourite dishes. Shanks and sweet potatoes are made for each other.

  9. Looks fabulous and bet it was amazing with all those gorgeous flavours!

  10. caseylee18 says:

    mm love lamb shanks. looks great!

  11. Oh WOW, that’s a gorgeous looking lamb shank! Looks absolutely mouth-watering! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

  12. Lamb is truly my favorite meat, and shanks right on top of the lamb list. Yum.

  13. Lesley says:

    Oh how I love lamb! Fantastic recipe and photos – thanks for sharing!

  14. You done did good by that Welsh lamb :-) Looks incredible, Rosemary. Lamb shanks are my favorite. Such good comfort food! And the Asian twist is great :-)

  15. I am deep in contemplation now. I love lamb. I love sweet potatoes. Will I love them together. Only one way to find out!

  16. owl10night says:

    Wowwwwwww !!
    look so DELICIOUS !!!!
    Now I’m so hungry .

  17. rsmacaalay says:

    Wow that shanks looks amazing!

  18. Looks brilliant, and I’m sure it tastes the same! Lamb shanks are becoming more and more popular in the UK now and are becoming increasingly expensive as a result.

  19. Pingback: Moroccan Kefta Tagine of meatballs without eggs, Bulgar wheat and Moroccan Zaalouk Recipe | Chocolate Spoon & The Camera

Leave a Reply

