Spanish Chorizo Omelette with Irregular Mushrooms

IMG_8090b

Mexican chorizo has been on my mind lately and I was wishing for some when I saw this great recipe for home made Mexican chorizo from Case of the Munchies http://caseofthemunchies.wordpress.com/2013/01/29/chorizo-tacosenchiladas/

IMG_8078b

Still, you have to “love the one you’re with”, so I made an omelette with Spanish chorizo, mushrooms and mozzarella.  Quick and easy, it would work just as well with Mexican chorizo.

Spanish Chorizo Omelette

1/2 Spanish chorizo link, diced

1 tsp butter

4 cremini mushrooms, sliced

2 eggs, beaten

1/4 cup shredded mozzarella

Brown the chorizo with the butter in an oven proof skillet, then add the mushrooms and continue to cook for about 2 minutes.  Add the eggs and cook just until the bottom is set, then sprinkle with the mozzarella, put under the oven broiler and broil until the top is set and the cheese melted.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Spanish Chorizo Omelette with Irregular Mushrooms

  1. Yum! I am blessed enough to have a new butcher area to my grocery. They carry fresh Mexican chorizo. I can’t wait to try this…

  2. Tessa says:

    Looks delicious! I’m curious… What’s irregular about the cremini mushrooms?

  3. Karista says:

    I could live on spanish chorizo. We make omelettes every weekend and this is definitely going on the list. Delicious!

  4. cecilia says:

    I love omelettes! And am looking forward to checking out this chorizo recipe.. we certainly cannot find anything like that around here! c

  5. This reminds me of the “tortilla” omelettes that we eat in Argentina! Of course, Argentine cuisine is strongly influenced by Spanish culture (since it used to be a spanish colony) – and the chorizo omelette is one of the most flavorful!

    thank you for sharing this recipe!
    Will be following your blog!

    cheers from buenos aires,
    felicia

    http://dishbydish.net

  6. oh does this look yummy…i love chorizo, but i only know like 3 recipes i use it in..i can’t wait to try this one out, would make such a lovely lunch…lovely post..sarah

  7. www.macuisineetvous.com, www.mesphotosetvous.com says:

    so yummy.

  8. Paula says:

    Delicious!!
    My mother made me omelette with ham or chorizo (tortilla con chorizo :P ) when we were in a hurry! I loved the way chorizo ‘melt’ in the eggs.

    I’ve told you the other day, at that time I didn’t like mushrooms, but now I see it like a great addition!! :)

    I want (I need!!) a skillet like yours! I’ll find it someday, not easy to find these skillet in Spain :(

  9. caseylee18 says:

    Yumm, this looks so good. Cheesy goodness, simple, and I bet tastes great, awesome job! I now have a new idea to put chorizo in =). And thanks for the mention!

  10. Love this Rosemary, can just taste all those wonderful flavours going on.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  11. Mad Dog says:

    That sounds like a very good lunch – I love chorizo omelettes :-)

  12. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely. A regular treat, I’m sure.

  13. kahmen says:

    What a great idea – it looks delicious! Definitely going to give that a try…

  14. rsmacaalay says:

    I see two of my favorite ingredients here, chorizo and mushrooms this I bet would be a champion breakfast

  15. Thanks for ‘liking’ my post (bacco italian pizzeria review) :) I LOVE your photos, the food looks simply delicious I will definitely be trying some of your recipes! I wish you’d put up more photos in each post! :)

  16. Fabulous shot. Nice looking food.

  17. I had never heard of Mexican Chorizo until I happened upon this recipe:

    http://honestcooking.com/2011/09/05/buttered-beans-and-mexican-chorizo/

    which pretty much looks like heaven-on-earth to me. :-) . She recommends the following:

    http://www.spiciefoodie.com/2010/04/06/giveaway-and-mexican-chorizo-2/

    so now you have an alternative to try!
    Thanks so much for your space here, which is always inviting and welcoming…

  18. It sounds and looks delicious! Yummy!:)

  19. A fantastic recipe! Love the use of crimini mushrooms, they add such wonderful, full flavour. thanks for sharing!

    -Shannon

  20. Looks amazing. And of course, I love the pan :-)

  21. Pingback: The Art of Using Mexican Chorizo | In the Pantry

  22. Pingback: Mexican Chorizo & Potatoes | In the Pantry

Leave a Reply

