Ocean Fish with Chard and Leeks

IMG_7625b

The good news is that I found a fishmonger, a butcher and the open market in the historic town center of Waiblingen, about 5 minutes from our house.  The bad news is that I haven’t yet learned to copy down the German names of the fish to have Google translated when I get home.

IMG_7613b

I can only say that today’s fish came from the ocean, was firm, white and had a stronger taste than cod.  Mystery fish.  Good though.

IMG_7588b

A while back I made some chard and leek rolled fillets of sole  http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/02/08/chard-and-leek-stuffed-sole-with-lemon-sauce/ that I wanted to repeat.  However, the fillets of the mystery fish weren’t the right size; they were larger and thicker, so I decided instead of rolling the stuffing inside, I would mound it on top.  This worked fine but I needed to increase the cooking time from 15 minutes to 25.

IMG_7600b

Old town Waiblingen is a sweet little place with numerous Tudor style buildings, restaurants and boutiques.  I found this hand painted bowl in the brocante section of an antique shop.

IMG_7560b

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Ocean Fish with Chard and Leeks

  1. Lovely bowl, a great find. :) Definitely curious about what the fish is though.

  2. Terry says:

    Reminds me of a lunch I had in Brugge. No chard but the leeks in cream work so well with the fish.

  3. cecilia says:

    You found the markets, the stores AND the antique shop, you are well on your way to feeling at home.. lovely fish.. c

  4. My French Heaven says:

    It really looks like cod though… The pictures are stunning (as always). An that white and blue china is stunning. I love fish with leeks!! :)

  5. Thank you. I found the china bowl at a vide grenier :)

  6. Mad Dog says:

    Your mystery fish sounds very tasty. Nice work at the antique shop too ;-)

  7. Conor Bofin says:

    I love the knife, fork and serviette ring combo. Looks lovely, as does the mystery fish.
    Best,
    Conor

  8. rsmacaalay says:

    Mystery fish or not it sounds delicious

  9. Looks lovely and fresh. delicious ingredients combined. I’d have guessed hake was it not for your description as being stronger than cod. Looks like gadoid (cod family) anyway. Hopefully the mystery will unfold….

    • Thank you. When I saw it, I thought cod but not. I really didn’t expect to find a fishmonger in my search of the town and wasn’t prepared, so I just giddily grabbed whatever looked good without bothering to read and copy the signs. Next time we’ll find out :)

  10. Dianna says:

    Do you ladle all of the chard/leek mixture on top of your fillets before baking or hold some back to serve after the fish is cooked and the lemon sauce is added?

    • Hi Dianna. I made the lemon sauce first and kept warm. I then mounded some of the mixture on top of the fillets with my hands, baked, then served with the lemon sauce and extra chard and leek.

  11. Ye olde deckhand says:

    Snapper.

  12. Karen says:

    Your mystery fish looks delicious. It sounds like you had a lovely day exploring the historic center of town.

  13. You always make mystery meats look appealing. Too bad my cafeteria lady in school didn’t have that talent.

  14. Thank you Greg. Mystery labeled plates in cafeterias usually mean that they couldn’t be bothered to make a nameable plate :)

  15. Yum – I was going to say Perch, by the slightly pink color. Love that bluw bowl too :)

  16. Best mystery fish ever! Looks like you are getting your bearings over there!

    • Thank you Daisy. I feel like things are starting to come together a bit. Having to rely on supermarkets was bringing me down. No more! The things I like are close and in a cute little town :)

  17. This mystery fish makes me really hungry…..just love the picture..Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

