Pork Chops with Brussel Sprouts

IMG_7380b

Whenever I would invite guests for a formal, sit-down lunch/dinner party (8-12), I would always inquire beforehand about possible dietary restrictions; religious, allergenic, life-style preferences.  Nothing is so uncomfortable, for both guests and hosts, as an “inedible” meal.  Before I learned this I would cringe, even if my guest didn’t, when someone inquired suspiciously, “What’s in this?” or declared as the standing rib roast was served, “I’m a vegetarian” or as the server poured wine, “I can’t drink that.”  Advice:  If you don’t drink wine, turn your wine glass down before it is served.  If you were busy talking and didn’t notice that you were being served wine, just pretend you don’t see it.  The hostess will like you better :)

IMG_7359b

I remember hosting a buffet dinner for 25 with the usual meat, starches and vegetables.  Guests were seated at 4 or 5 tables and helped themselves to the buffet.  At these affairs I like to circulate among the guests to make sure they have everything they need before I take my seat.  I noticed that one of my guests had seemingly missed out on the meat/chicken, whatever it was, and I asked if I could help her to a slice/piece.  In a quiet, polite tone she informed me that she was vegetarian and that while she would have to decline the meat, my onion casserole was the best she had ever tasted and that she was on her way back for seconds.  Who was her mother?!  This young lady became a frequent guest at our buffets and I always tried to make something interesting for her :)  In addition, her courtesy caused me, rightfully, to modify my buffet presentation.

IMG_7400b

I began to collect small ceramic figures in the shape of edible animals as a way of identifying what was being served.  The above small sampling is just what I’ve unpacked so far. Of course I went overboard, but in a large, multicultural community these figures proved to be both amusing and useful to our buffet guests.  Why didn’t we throw those labels away?  They must be from the last Christmas party in Senegal.  Why didn’t I throw them away before I took this picture?  I still haven’t thrown them away.  Oh well.

IMG_7252b

This weekend we’re going to our town’s center(Waiblingen) to search for a butcher or metzger, a fishmonger or fischhandler ( I love that) and the farmers market or marketplatz.  Old town Waiblingen is only about 10 minutes away by car and the supermarkets are unable to fulfill my culinary expectations or to keep me informed of the changes in local, seasonal produce.

IMG_7318

And anyway, I’m not even close to being in freezer trouble :)

Pork Chops with Brussel Sprouts

4 pork chops, sprinkled with Emeril’s essence

1 tbsp butter

1/4 cup bacon, diced

1 tbsp butter

1/4 onion, chopped

2 cups brussel sprouts, halved

1/4 cup  or less water

Heat the oven to 425 F, put the butter in a roasting pan and melt.  Add the pork chops to the roasting pan and roast for 20 minutes, turn and roast for an additional 1o-15 minutes.

Fry the bacon in a skillet until it begins to brown.  Add the butter and onion and cook until the onion is just soft.  Add the brussel sprouts and brown, then add the water, cover and steam for about 5 minutes.

Wine suggestion:  German white wine.  Top not important.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Pork Chops with Brussel Sprouts

  1. Mad Dog says:

    “And anyway, I’m not even close to being in freezer trouble” – take a large bag to the market ;-)
    I love the little animals and those pork chops look done just the way I like them!

  2. oh i just adore your little menu holders…what a great idea…the pork chops looks just delish…lovely post…sarah

  3. Michelle says:

    What a never-ending Christmas that your unpacking must feel like!

  4. Karista says:

    I love Emeril’s Essence. One of my favorite spice/herb blends. I use it on everything… even salmon! My kind of meal :)

  5. cecilia says:

    People with differing food choices do need to realise that a smile and a polite no thank you is so much nicer than declarations designed to make the omnivores present feel guilty about their choices. My dad once said that he always makes sure that he has lovely vegetable choices for the vegetarians he entertains due to some unfortunate comments they made in the past about being relegated to choosing between what they considered were side dishes – but he thinks it is always a wee bit sad that they do not reciprocate with a protein for him when he comes over to their place. I must tell him about the little tongue in cheek labels, he will like that! morning rosemary.. c

  6. That’s very cute and cool, Rosemary. A great talking point as well, I assume! Lovely chops you have! The pork isn’t bad either.

  7. I love the idea of using little animal figurines to help identify what’s on the plate! Genius, Rosemary!

    These pork chops and sprouts look mouthwatering! And those pigs with wings? Too cute! You’re killing me here with cuteness!

  8. Tessa says:

    Looks delicious! I like your figurine collection. What a wonderful idea!

  9. Wonderful! And you and I think alike.I just ‘preached’ in my blog tonight about making sure that a person has all their bases covered,:vegan, gluten-free, dairy-free when putting up a buffet and their guests’ needs and preferences are unknown. It is a constant throughout my ‘easy entertaining’-themed blog, one of the things I try to teach.

  10. Bassa's Blog says:

    Wonderful idea to display the ceramic animals! By the way, I adore brussel sprouts!

Leave a Reply

