T-Bone American, Egg and Mushrooms

IMG_7223b

For the past 2 weeks my cats have been acting really weird, standing against walls with glazed expressions.  I thought maybe the moving and traveling had just been too much for them.  Today I looked a little closer and saw that they were standing next to radiators :)  Poor kitties, it’s cold!  Snow for the next 3 days.  Gratuitous Roger vertical photo.

IMG_7331b

About a week ago, while surfing the net, I ran across a description that said “regular” mushrooms and instead of stopping to see what they meant by that, I moved on.  Now it’s driving me crazy!  What is a regular mushroom?  Anyway.  Ethiopian priest’s staff cross.

IMG_7343b

I had forgotten an American T-Bone in the refrigerator and so it’s been aging for about 3 days.  Not a bad thing, a little refrigerator aging is supposed to bring out the flavor.  However,  I have to say that the American T-Bone had a different taste and texture from regular beef, having neither the firm, beefy-ness of Limousin, the lean tenderness of Parthenaise nor the tender, richness of Charolais.  A sort of neutral taste and texture.  It was okay, but not regular.  Still, with the egg and mushrooms, it was a good, substantial breakfast.

Sauteed Mushrooms with Leeks

2 tbsp butter

1 leek, sliced

1 garlic clove, slivered

1 lb regular mushrooms, sliced

1/4 cup white wine

1/4 cup chicken broth

1 tbsp Dijon mustard

Salt and pepper

Cook the leek and garlic in the butter until the leek is just tender.  Add the mushrooms and brown for about 3 minutes.  Add the wine and reduce by half.  Add the chicken broth and reduce by half.  Stir in the mustard, salt and pepper.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to T-Bone American, Egg and Mushrooms

  1. Must just mean white… hmm… no mushrooms are regular when you prepare them, Rosemary. Looks fab.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Plus one from me – I’ve never thought to add chicken stock to my mushrooms – that sounds very good. Out of interest, your T-Bone looks different to an English one, though only because I can’t see a bone, which could be hidden by the egg ;-)

  3. Anything would taste terrific with your sauteed mushrooms and leeks! We have radiator kitties, too, this time of year. :)

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    Our dog (of 6 months) has taken to squeezing herself between the couch and the radiator. When I decide to go to bed, I have pull out the couch and gently kick her out. She is usually unimpressed.
    Great to see your cooking and styling back to your high French standard.
    Best,
    Conor

  5. So that’s what you do with all those boxes. I haven’t had steak with eggs in too long. Looks fantastic.

  6. My family would be in heaven with this breakfast!

  7. I never heard the differences between regional French beef so well described. Nice one.

  8. Another great post! Looks very tasty…

  9. Not too shabby of a breakfast! I love steak and eggs. Yum. That little cow in the photo is adorable too. Where did he come from??

  10. rsmacaalay says:

    I love nice and simple yet comforting meal like this

  11. Wonder if the “regular” mushrooms are just the plain white ones. Never heard of them being referred like that before. When it gets cold in our house (starting in October and ending in May) I take advantage of our dogs and let them be lap dogs. :) All 55lbs each of them.

Leave a Reply

