Crispy Korean Chicken Thighs

IMG_6907b

With the plumbers in all day yesterday and the endless unpacking, I didn’t get around to making and photographing our meal until about 5:00 p.m., with the sun setting.  I’m fairly pleased with the results in almost dark conditions.  I wouldn’t wait that long again, but it does mean that I have usable light for a longer period in this house and that my Canon Rebel with the 50 mm 1.4 lens is a very good camera for a novice.  So pleased :)

IMG_6795b

My marinade is probably not strictly Korean but it tasted similar, so whatever.

Crispy Korean Chicken Thighs

4 chicken thighs

1/4 cup soy sauce

1 1/2 tbsp sesame oil

1 tsp black pepper

2 tbsp sugar

1 inch ginger, finely chopped

4 garlic cloves, finely chopped

1 scallion, cut into 1 inch pieces

Mix the soy sauce, oil, sugar, ginger, garlic and scallion together.  Put the chicken in a zip lock bag, pour the marinade in and squish around.  Allow to marinate for at least 4 hours.

Preheat the oven to 425 F and remove the thighs from the marinade and roast in a pan with a rack for 30-35 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Korean, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Crispy Korean Chicken Thighs

  1. These look so delicious, really easy, must give it a go!

  2. Great photo and looks divine :-) How did you manage to get such good light at 5pm. I find light a real problem in the winter and I’m further South than you…

    • Thank you. The livingroom and dining room areas are mostly glass so I get the maximum of whatever light there is. However, it was almost dark and overcast, so I think it’s the camera.

  3. Wonderful recipe, so quick and it looks so tasty.

  4. Yes this looks tasty. I find with my camera if I can hold still I can get some really nice photos in lower light. I should invest in a small tripod. :)

  5. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely food and pics Rosemary. Apart from your ‘eye’, the 1.4 really helps. I have been using a fixed 50mm 1.8 (too cheap to stump for the 1.4) and the results are pretty good. Though I do need to drag the lighting into the kitchen most evenings that I am shooting.
    Best,
    Conor

    • Thank you Conor. I have some artificial lightening that I mail ordered about 2 years ago but it’s been with our other stuff in Antwerp and I haven’t opened it yet. I plan to play with it to see what happens.

  6. Sounds fabulous and looks beautiful. We don´t tend to eat our main meal until about 9 or 10pm, so you can imagine the problems I have taking photos!

  7. Mad Dog says:

    You are lucky with the time difference – it’s dark by 4.30 here. That marinade sounds good :-)

  8. I need to get myself some new lenses… still using a kit lens… not got a job though, so I can’t go around purchasing willy-nilly… Looking goo, Rosemary – who cares if it’s isn’t quite authentic!

  9. I have such problems with lack of light in the winter – especially i use only the iphone really. I have a Canon something or other but can’t get to grips with it. These pics look great.

    • In the Vendee region of France, one of your compatriots, Roger Stowell, gives food photography tours while teaching you to use your camera. You can tailor your class from 1 -5 days and to include a nightly dinner with wine, cooked by Roger. I stayed 5 days and had so much fun with Roger and his wife Jenny. But most importantly, I learned to use my Canon which I wasn’t really sure how to turn on :)

  10. Looks super tasty. The sauce is a must-save!

  11. Looks fantastic. Always been a thigh woman myself :-)

  12. Looks good to me. Shooting in near darkness is one of the excellent features of digital photography. They’ve worked really well.

  13. Wow…beautiful pictures…as usual :)

  14. daisyandthefox says:

    this looks delicious! and so fresh and flavorsome!!

  15. rsmacaalay says:

    I thinks the marinade is Korean enough and the only thing you might have missed is something to make it hot

  16. I have gotten very behind on my e-correspondence and blogs, but I’m catching up some tonight. This looks wonderful; I am glad someone else appreciates chicken thighs!

Leave a Reply

