Poached Egg with Leeks and Spinach

IMG_6876b

We had the plumbers in this morning or as the landlord writes, the blumbers, to hook up the washing machine and dryer.  They also performed some kind of maintenance on the sauna and indoor pool.   I had to say that.  Don’t hate me :D

IMG_6826b

As the plumbers arrived at 8:00 a.m., I thought this would be a good time to test my light and take my first pictures in this house.  Leeks, spinach and eggs were in the fridge and it was a good opportunity to use my Ethiopian knife and fork that I haven’t seen for at least ten years, and to use my little skillet that’s not Frugal’s.  This was simple, quick and good with some of my favorite things.  The light was good too :)

Poached Egg with Leeks and Spinach

1 1/2 tbsp butter

1/2 cup leeks, sliced

6 leaves baby spinach

Salt and pepper

1 perfectly poached egg

Cook the leeks in the butter until tender, remove from flame, stir in the spinach and season with salt and pepper.  Top with the egg and enjoy.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Poached Egg with Leeks and Spinach

  1. Darya says:

    One of my absolute favorite things to eat!

  2. That’s funny – I used my skillet that is Frugal’s today! Hehe. Remember though, should I pass on – it’s yours! Don’t you dare take out a hit on me! Cracking egg, by the way.

  3. I don’t think I have yet mastered the art of making a perfectly poached egg! The picture looks beautiful and I love your Ethiopian hardware :)

  4. Mad Dog says:

    Very good and no trouble with the light ;-)

  5. Love a good poached egg. I’ll have to try it with leeks sometimes.

  6. cecilia says:

    Poached egg on spinach with hollandaise sauce is very NZ! this would be lovely tooo. I love leeks.. c

  7. Beautiful shots – a poached egg is a very beautiful and delicious thing!

  8. Great light :) lovely oozy egg, a wonderful simple meal, but feeling very luxurious.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  9. Gorgeous light! And I noticed the pretty knife and fork immediately. Of course they’re from Ethiopia :-)

    And just one sauna and one indoor pool. Slumming it, Rosemary :-)

  10. Looks yummy! Btw, I made your hoisin glazed salmon for dinner last Sunday and it was a hit! Will be making that one again for sure!

  11. It looks delicious but everything you cook looks so delicious!

  12. Perfectly poached is a spot on description.

Leave a Reply

