Hoisin Glazed Salmon Steaks with Jerusalem Artichokes

IMG_6423b

I miss my fishmonger.  There’s that personal interaction; he knows who I am, what I like and what might tempt me.  He is knowledgeable of and has more than a pecuniary interest in his products.  He is funny and though I think that I miss the punch line in many of his jokes, I like that he tells them.

IMG_6349b

So different from the slam-bam, here’s your fish of the supermarket fish counters.  I bought these salmon steaks at the Gebauer supermarket fish counter and God knows, because the counterman probably doesn’t, where they come from.  Oh well, going home on Sunday :)  Still, in all fairness, they looked and tasted fresh.

IMG_6404b

My recipes today come from Martha Stewart (salmon)http://www.marthastewart.com/336530/salmon-steaks-with-hoisin-glaze and Jamie Oliver (Jerusalem artichokes) http://www.jamieoliver.com/recipes/vegetarian-recipes/sauted-jerusalem-artichokes-with-garlic.  I’ve always liked Martha Stewart; I don’t care if she went to prison, none of my business really.  For decades, her “Entertaining” cookbook has been my bible for food presentation.  I’ll have to find that book again and look at it for photo ideas.  Still, Martha “don’t” know everything; I scattered some crushed garlic, ginger and shallots on the bottom of the pan after wiping it with a little sesame seed oil.  And sorry Martha, I didn’t have any orange juice so I used mirin instead, but you go girl!

IMG_6365b

As for Jamie’s Jerusalem artichokes, they were fabulous!  Such an earthy, beyond potato flavor.  The bay leaves were brilliant!

IMG_6397b

However, next time I think I will pan roast them with the skin on, also I did adjust the cooking time a bit.

IMG_6380b

Mad Dog http://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/recommended a film called “Comme un Chef” with Jean Reno that I streamed today.  It was hilarious and I think it might be interesting for other food bloggers.  Thanks Dog!

Hoisin Glazed Salmon Steaks and Jerusalem Artichokes

3-4 salmon steaks

Salt and pepper

1 tbsp mirin

2 tbsp hoisin sauce

2 tsp honey

1 tsp sesame seed oil

3 garlic cloves, sliced

3 shallots, sliced

1 inch fresh ginger, sliced

4 large Jerusalem artichokes, peeled and cut into chunks

1 1/2 tbsp olive oil

2 bay leaves

2 cloves garlic, sliced

2 tbsp white wine vinegar

Salt and pepper

Season the salmon steaks with salt and pepper.  Mix the hoisin sauce, mirin and honey together and brush onto the steaks.  Oil a roasting pan with the sesame seed oil and scatter the garlic cloves, shallots and ginger inside.  Place the salmon on top and set aside.

Brown the artichokes in the olive oil, add the bay leaves, garlic, vinegar, salt and pepper, cover and cook for about 10-15 minutes.  Remove from the heat and set aside.

Broil or grill the steaks for 8 minutes, brush with more sauce, turn, and continue to broil for 5-8 minutes.

On high, reheat and crisp the artichokes and serve with the salmon.

Wine suggestion:  Aligote

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Asian, Cooking, English, fish, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Hoisin Glazed Salmon Steaks with Jerusalem Artichokes

  1. Mmm those look good, I have a glut of artichokes so that will be a lovely recipe for them, thanks.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  2. Different and interesting.

  3. Mad Dog says:

    I think I prefer the idea of mirin to orange juice, but anyway great recipe and I might try the artichokes too :-)
    I’m glad you enjoyed the film and thanks for the name check ;-)

  4. My French Heaven says:

    Love the pictures. I really like the plate too:0)

  5. Karen says:

    I think you meal sounds great. I love the little tagine.

  6. cecilia says:

    Oh I wish i had known about that movie last night, we watched this terrible thing set in poland with helen mirrin and i was appalled that helen would do such a dreadful piece or maybe it was dubbed, who knows..it was so bad it was hard to tell.. I hate dubbed! The salmon did look bright and fresh.. c

  7. Am just trying to download that film! I love Jerusalem artichokes but rarely find them :( Lovely salmon!

  8. Conor Bofin says:

    Another lovely recipe well executed and photographed.
    Best,
    Conor

  9. Trish says:

    I grew Jerusalem artichoke one year, but couldn’t reconcile myself to the taste. they are native to my part of the country, and grew well, but it’s a no go.

  10. Those do look wonderful, but it is hard getting used to new shopping places.

  11. gwynnem says:

    I probably shouldn’t have viewed this post prior to dinner. ;P The salmon steaks look DELICIOUS.

  12. Yum. I wonder how the German foodie locals deal with lack of interaction with the people who supply their food . . .

  13. Jon says:

    Looks great. I do something similiar that the kids like, more or less the same process (with the addtion of some chile serrano and scallions) but at the end I add a heavy splash of coconut water and let it boil down a bit. Fresh coconut water might be a tough bet at your Gebauermarkt, though…

  14. Martha and Jamie.. a match made in heaven.. but your touches are all the more special:)

  15. rsmacaalay says:

    Interesting flavour for salmon, I feel like its Chinese version of the salmon teriyaki but better. I have all the ingredients so no reason not to make this soon

  16. Pingback: Artichoke Goat Cheese Garlic Bread | Savor the Food

  17. Pingback: Food Challenge – Jerusalem Artichokes Pan-Roasted with Winter Squash « Andrea's Garden Cooking

  18. Pingback: Cheap Cookware & Delicious Recipes » How to Cook Salmon Steaks

Leave a Reply

