Braised Rabbit with Parsnips, Carrots and Pearl Onions

IMG_6147b

The landlord is changing the stove!  I was afraid this blog would turn into a 2 year long whine that nobody would want to read and I certainly would not want to write.  Would not write!  And then what would I do with myself?  Back to genealogy, trying to find slave ancestors that have eluded me for the last 15 years, lurking hungrily around other blogs while eating frozen, microwavable meals from the commissary.  Whew!  Saved!

IMG_6099b

I miss the variety of the French supermarkets.  The average Frenchman does not eat foie gras everyday but does have affordable, supermarket access to many items we would consider specialties or gourmet; duck legs and breasts, succulent rabbit, entrecote, filet mignon, New Zealand leg of lamb, veal liver, boudin noir, kidneys, fresh fish, mussels, etc.  Browsing the supermarket meat sections in Stuttgart takes me back to those of New Orleans; pork, pork, pork, pork, chicken, pork, pork, pork, pork, beef, pork, pork, pork, lamb.  You get the idea :)   Thank god for Fresh Paradise  http://www.frischeparadies.de/frischeparadies-maerkte/stuttgart.html

IMG_6053b

I didn’t get these rabbit legs at Fresh Paradise but in the frozen section of Edeka.  A French import, it says L’as du trefle, ace of clubs, on the package. Love the rabbit.

IMG_6049b

Afraid to put my new tajine in the Tajine Terminator Oven, I used the $5 big black skillet.  It’s a nice skillet.  I’m glad someone decided to put it up for adoption :)  I covered it with a top from the apartment’s stock pot.  Whatever.  This is the way it looked in the oven.

IMG_6076b

I’ve had these pearl onions for a while and this was the perfect opportunity to use them.

IMG_6081b

I usually don’t find anything exciting at the Christmas fairs, other than tree ornaments, but the Stuttgart fair had several stalls selling molds, cookie and vegetable cutters.  They had every shape you could imagine.

IMG_6083b

Of course I was mainly interested in the food animal shapes but there were so many, I’ll have to go back.

IMG_6150b

The rabbit was delicious and fork tender.  I imagine you could do this with chicken legs, adjusting the cooking time down to 40 minutes in the oven covered and 20 minutes uncovered.

Braised Rabbit with Parsnips, Carrots and Pearl Onions

6 rabbit legs

3 tbsp olive oil

1 onion, coarsely chopped

4 garlic cloves, chopped

2 celery branches, sliced

2 parsnips, chaos cut

4 carrots, chaos cut

1/2 tsp peppercorns

2 bay leaves

3-4 fresh sprigs of thyme

1 large fresh sprig of oregano

1 cup chicken broth

1 cup German demi-sec white wine

1/2 lb fresh pearl onions

1 1/2 tbsp butter

Brown the rabbit in the olive oil in a stove top to oven pan, remove and set aside.  Add the onion, garlic and celery to the pan and saute for 2 minutes.  Add the parsnips, carrots, peppercorns, bay leaves, thyme, oregano and saute for 3 minutes.  Pour over the chicken broth, bring to a boil, then top with reserved rabbit.  Pour the wine on top of the rabbit, cover and braise in a 350 F oven for 1 hour.  Uncover and cook for an additional 20 minutes.

Blanch the pearl onions for about 1 minute in boiling water, remove, allow to cool and peel.  Brown the onions in the butter and add to the rabbit for the last 20 minutes of cooking.

Wine suggestion:  Chenas

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Kitchen tools, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Braised Rabbit with Parsnips, Carrots and Pearl Onions

  1. Genealogy can suck you in as much as cooking! But glad they are fixing your stove. Hard to live without a working one.

  2. Jon says:

    Skipping rabbit on the label is indeed a nice touch.

  3. My French Heaven says:

    Gorgeous pictures! I made rabbit last week but couldn’t take one descent shot… I like the front legs best. Much more tender:0)

  4. putneyfarm says:

    Beautiful dish and we like the extra photos!

  5. Conor Bofin says:

    Nice rabbit. Nice rabbit shape on the pepper too. Interestingly enough, in our house, I do the food, the Wife does the genealogy. She has been at it for a few years now and seems to be always finding somebody’s Irish ancestors. It is really interesting stuff.
    Best,
    Conor

  6. There’s a rabbit in your braised vegetable garden! :-)

    Looks great, Rosemary! The ability to pull these amazing meals out of a subpar kitchen is a true mark of a great cook. Can’t wait to hear about the new stove. Hope it is a great improvement!

  7. Mad Dog says:

    I think you might be in a pork region – in Spain they make eat ham before they even let you in ;-)
    Good to see you fed it some carrots and I love those animal vegetable cutters too :-)

  8. Yay! Also, nice rabbit – I was going to cook rabbit last week, but they didn’t have any in… so Idid pheasant instead… rabbit recipe incoming!

  9. cecilia says:

    What a perfect little leg, I know someone who actually grows rabbits for the table, but i have never been quite brave enough.. not after the awful rabbit meals my grandma used to make! c

  10. Great recipe and I love the extra bunny in the veggies! Genealogy is fun too – would love to hear about some of the things you have found out about your family…

    • Thank you Chica. One of the fantastic things I’ve found was a newspaper advertisement from my great-great grandfather looking for his family after he was freed.

      • Oh my goodness, that must have been a very emotional find. I too have come across some things that really make you think about where you have come from (and how very lucky we are nowadays to live the kind of lives that we live).

  11. I never tire of your photos – food arrangements, color, light, plates – all so beautiful.

  12. I love the animal cutters and the rabbit looks delicious too.

  13. Pingback: A Seasonally Delicious Winter’s Day | San Francisco Bay Area Culinary and Lifestyle Trends and Features

Leave a Reply

