Cannelloni

IMG_5982b

When I first got married and hosted dinner parties, my go-to meals were usually pseudo-Italian; spaghetti and meatballs, lasagna, cannelloni, things that involved ground beef and cheese.

IMG_6042b

I guess I finally bored myself and now I rarely make them which is too bad because I think I’m better qualified to bring some authenticity to these plates.  But not today.  Today is a “I can’t be bothered” day, involving cans and “no pre-cook” dried pasta.

IMG_5966

Yesterday, we closed a deal on a house rental, move in date December 15th.  Nice house, old decrepit stove.  Landlord vows to seek solution without mentioning the word “purchase.”    Indoor, continuous swimming pool with sauna :)  Taxes to be paid on rain water, no vacuuming or car washing on Sunday and, in case of need, pedestrian walk snow shoveling duties to be shared with neighbor, choosing even or odd days :o

IMG_5980b

If you really can’t be bothered to make the sauce, buy one of those jars of spaghetti sauce.  I would have done this but I couldn’t be bothered to go to the store :D

Cannelloni

Sauce

1 onion, chopped

3 garlic cloves, chopped

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp fresh oregano, chopped

1 tsp fresh basil, chopped

2 cans diced tomatoes

1/2 cup red wine

1/4 cup water

Salt and pepper

Filling

1 small onion, chopped

3 garlic cloves, chopped

2 tbsp olive oil

1 lb ground steak

1 cup ricotta

2 eggs, beaten

2 tbsp parsley, chopped

Salt and pepper

20 no pre-cook cannelloni shells

1 1/2 cups mozzarella, crumbled

To make the sauce, saute the onion and garlic in the olive oil until the onion is soft.  Add the oregano and basil, then continue to saute for 1 minute.  Add the tomatoes and red wine and boil for about 3 minutes.  Add the water, salt, pepper, then simmer for 1 hour.

For the filling, saute the onion and garlic in the olive oil until the onion is soft.  Add the ground steak and cook until just done.  Allow to cool.  In the meantime, mix together the ricotta, eggs, parsley, salt and pepper.  When the meat is cool, stir in the ricotta mixture and stuff into the cannelloni shells.

To assemble, spread some tomato sauce on the bottom of a baking pan, top with the stuffed cannelloni and spread more sauce on top.  Sprinkle with the crumbled mozzarella and bake in a 375 F oven for about 30 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Italian, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Cannelloni

  1. Reblogged this on Annette J Dunlea Irish Author and commented:
    reblogging this blog…I love Italian cooking

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Those jars of sauce won’t do for me, but your recipe sounds good anyway :-)
    No vacuuming on Sundays – is it next to a church?
    I’m glad you found a house anyway – give the landlord hell with regard to a decent stove!

  3. So no one can vacuum on a Sunday? Or just in buildings with multi units? I think Sundays would fast become my favourite day. :) Car washing is a bit strange though.

  4. My French Heaven says:

    This looks (and MUST taste) absolutely wonderful!!! Thanks for the recipe!

  5. Conor Bofin says:

    Rosemary,
    I love the ‘too lazy to go to the store so you made the sauce’. I understand entirely. Good luck with the house move. On the snow shovelling front, I was asked by a neighbour to stop shovelling the snow as I was making him look bad. He was not joking. When he went back in, I cleared the entire road outside his house. He was not impressed. I enjoyed the exercise and the bit of badness.
    Best,
    Conor

  6. Snowy and cold over here…this is something I would love for the lunch. Delish!

  7. Congrats on finding a rental house and good luck with the move. So interesting about the vacuuming! Love your cannelloni and I haven’t made any in so long…think I will give this a try sometime soon. :)

  8. Pingback: Cannelloni | À Catanada na Cozinha Magazine | Scoop.it

  9. Tessa says:

    Lovely cannelloni! I admit, I use the jarred sauce sometimes too :).

  10. Laura says:

    Two thoughts: What is a continuous swimming pool? I’m having image troubles here. Second, you jogged a wonderful memory of doing hand-rolle cannelloni when I live in Nepal, we’d do it around bamboo poles and rig them in the dining room to dry. Here I will buy some dried and try your recipe, and remember good times – thanks!

  11. rsmacaalay says:

    I love this recipe! I will make sure when I make my own I will use ricotta, never used them in cannelloni

  12. Congrats on the new rental! This looks great. And I am a big fan of no-boil lasagna sheets. I actually read in some fancy chef cookbook that if you just briefly parboil them, they have better consistency than the noodles you actually boil.

  13. Great recipe!! Made spinach lasagne last night and still have a tub of ricotta left, so will try your recipe once the leftovers are eaten up :-) Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

