Strasbourg City Christmas Decorations

IMG_5258v

I loved the way they decorated the buildings in the city center of Strasbourg.   Do we do this in the States?  I’ve forgotten.  Anyway, I thought this was really getting into the spirit.

IMG_5268b

I know I was supposed to be looking at the things they had for sale in the stalls but Christmas markets are just markets that are larger and themed with more of the same old stuff for sale, plus Christmas decorations.

IMG_5272b

These lovely old buildings are perfect for decoration.

IMG_5279b

In fact, our little town of Sens is not decorated like this.  I’m going to ask M. Parret why.

IMG_5281b

While we conducted a comparative study of mulled wines, Jade sat for her portrait.

IMG_5309b

I love this Santa’s reindeer.

IMG_5295b

I kept thinking Bullwinkle,  searching for a flying squirrel, but I don’t think that’s what the decorators had in mind.

IMG_5298b

At our break for lunch and more mulled wine we wondered about the origin of the Pied Piper tale, thinking that maybe Hamelin was an French Alsatian town.  No, internet says Germany but then again, Strasbourg was a part of Germany several times.

IMG_5302b

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Strasbourg City Christmas Decorations

  1. albertocook says:

    This Christmas Decorations are very beautifull

  2. Tessa says:

    Strasbourg is such a lovely place during the holidays. Rocky was the squirrel’s name :).

  3. Mad Dog says:

    Excellent decorations :-)

  4. Beautiful decorations – and how did the portrait turn out?!

  5. rsmacaalay says:

    I love that gingerbread decor, now this gave me an idea

  6. I’d forgotten about decorations like that. I remember going to Vienna, around Christmas time, some 20 years ago and seeing the same craziness as your Strasbourg decorations. Shame it’s just about money:)

  7. Love those decorations – less than two weeks before I’m in Munich and hitting the Christmas markets there! Hurrah!!

  8. We don’t decorate buildings like that here…but then we don’t have buildings like that here! :) So wonderful!

  9. Such pretty decorations! I do kind of worry about precipitation + plush animals . . .

    I love the color of Jade’s outfit. Are those jeans?

  10. Thank you for sharing these! It is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

