Souris d’Agneau Gallois or Frugal’s Surprise

The Fresh Paradise supermarket really does have everything!  Among other imported meats, they have Welsh lamb.  I immediately thought of Frugal  www.frugalfeeding.com and was pleased that I was finally going to see and taste this, according to Frugal, paragon of lambness.

My tajine cracked when I was browning the shanks on the oh so great quality electric stove, so my $5 cast iron was used with the unbroken tajine top to cover.  After the last tear drop fell, I ordered another tajine at amazon.com.  I will not be a victim!

I dithered a bit over the braising ingredients but felt that, come what may, wine and mustard were essential.  American mustard.

I mashed up some potatoes with leeks to fit into the Welsh/GB theme.

What did I think about the Welsh lamb?  It was the most tender and succulent lamb I have ever tasted, beating the French and American lamb down to the ground!  However, it lacked the wild, clover-ish taste of New Zealand lamb that I crave and love.  Sorry Frugal.

Souris d’Agneau Gallois

3-4 Welsh lamb shanks

Salt and pepper

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp butter

1 onion, chopped

4 fresh garlic cloves, chopped

2 branches of celery, coarsely diced

2 large carrots, coarsely diced

1 bay leaf

1 tbsp flour

1 cup white wine

1 cup veal or chicken broth

2 tbsp American, yellow mustard

Season the shanks with salt and pepper, then brown in the olive oil.  Remove from the pan and add the butter, onion, garlic, celery and carrots.  Saute the vegetables until the onions begin to brown.  Add the bay leaf and blend in the flour.  Add the wine and boil for about 3 minutes, then add the broth and mustard, blend well and add the browned shanks.  Cover and braise in a 350 F oven for 1 1/2 hours.  Remove top and continue to cook for an additional 30 minutes.

Serve with leek and potato mash.

Wine suggestion:  St. Cristina

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, English, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Souris d’Agneau Gallois or Frugal’s Surprise

  1. cecilia says:

    a paragon of lambness indeed and oh yes, NZ lamb. I am growing lambs the NZ way out here (the prairies of the US) but still they are not right. I shall have a wee toast for you when I roast a NZ lamb in NZ in a week or so!! c

  2. Conor Bofin says:

    No doubt about Welsh lamb’s credentials. Though I have to throw the hats of Wicklow and Kerry into the ‘paragon of lambness’ ring.
    Lovely post. Pity about the tajine.
    Best,
    Conor

  3. These look fabulous! I love lamb shanks and this recipe, like so many of yours, looks easy and delicious.

  4. Tessa says:

    I think that your friend Emile needs to send you a new one.

  5. I thought you had about 100 tajines. Sorry to hear one broke, but cast iron always comes to the rescue. This looks great by the way.

  6. Sorry about the Tajine! I’ve even made the title this time and what a surprise it was! I’m glad you liked the Welsh lamb so, but I still think it’s better than NZ lamb :D

  7. rsmacaalay says:

    Ouch tagine here is expensive and I will be crying if I broke mine. That lamb looks excellent

  8. Mad Dog says:

    I agree with frugalfeeding – you can’t judge Welsh lamb by something from a supermarket and that probably goes for New Zealand lamb too. Yours looks excellent regardless – shame about the tagine :-)

  9. This looks delicious and I’m glad you’ve had a chance to try Welsh lamb. I agree with frugalfeeding and MadDog, though, that you can’t judge Welsh lamb by the meat you buy in a supermarket – this is where I used to buy lamb when I lived in Wales: http://www.dewirobertsbutchers.com/ The deliver in the UK and may do further afield. He is a connoisseur of lamb and sells some of the best meat I’ve ever tasted. I hope one day you’ll be able to taste Aveyron lamb straight from the farm too – c’est un régal!

    • Thanks for the link chaise. You’re Welsh too, aren’t you? :)

      • Yes, but not biased (well, maybe a bit) because I think the best flavour in lamb I’ve tasted has been the Aveyron farm lamb that I’m lucky enough to be able to buy in the village because of a family connection with one of the wine domaines. I really don’t think anything you can buy in a supermarket can match meat bought in smaller outlets.

  10. Yummy, yummy! I knew it! I knew the surprise wither had to be Welsh lamb, or that you had gone to Wales and ripped Frugal’s AGA pan from his cold fingers :-)

    Welsh lamb is probably the more pleasant scenario :-)

  11. Karista says:

    I do love your blog and I’m so behind in my reading again. These look lovely and delicious! As does every dish you post. Wishing you a beautiful holiday season!

Leave a Reply

