Schweinebauch

In keeping with “vide frigidaire et congelateur” week, I made German pork belly.  I eyeballed this meat in the supermarket and it sort of looked like pork belly, only leaner.  I knew it was pork because of the “schweine” but the bauch was meaningless.  I still bought it and I was right :)

Buying anything extra being forbidden, I took 2 fennel bulbs and my last 3 carrots from the refrigerator, my last onion and apple from the fruit/vegetable bowls and 3 shallots as an onion substitute.  I tossed the vegetables with a seasoning I found at Taste.au http://www.taste.com.au/recipes/3670/pork+cutlets+with+roasted+fennel+and+apple.  I like Taste.au, a blend of real food and elegance.  I didn’t expect the vegetables to hold up to a 2 hour stint in the new oven but there’s always “bottom of the pan” relish :)

In fact, the vegetables held up well except for the apples but they were still discernibly apples.  Every piece of skin was crispy and the meat inside was juicy and tender.  I really like this recipe!  I made a Tupperware of sliced pork and vegetables for my husband’s lunch and wrapped the rest in aluminum foil for voluptuous sandwiches on the weekend when Jade comes.

Begin whine:  I like cooking in my manila colored tajine but I have lots of tajines and attractive baking pans in my house in my good kitchen with the good gas stove in Sens.  Not to mention every known spice in the world.  End whine.

Holidays are coming tra la la la la la,  and Fresh Paradise had quail eggs from France which just happened to be in the refrigerator.  Score!  I had one orange chilli from Bohm’s, and who doesn’t have an obscene amount of garlic on hand?  Korean quail eggs, Baby!  http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/12/09/ginger-sesame-coquelet-with-korean-quail-eggs/

One thing led to another.  I had one last bundle of soba noodles in the cabinet, left over pak choy, a handful of mushrooms which I sliced, the pork belly and the quail eggs.  Noodle time!  Here’s the recipe:  Make the quail eggs and when they are cool, remove them from the liquid and set aside.  Add 1 cup of water to the egg liquid, bring to a boil then add the noodles.  Cook the noodles for 4 minutes then remove with kitchen tongs to a soup bowl.  Top the noodles with the pak choy, mushrooms, pork belly and the quail eggs.  Bring the egg liquid back to a boil and pour over the noodles and toppings.  Enjoy!

I’m quite proud of my progress today.  I didn’t buy anything new and managed to make use of some of the odds and ends in the refrigerator.  Still, tomorrow I have to buy onions!  Who can cook without onions?  Well, then again, Somebody’s mother did.  No names!  Somebody might read this post ;)

Tomorrow we’ll pick up our new car.  It’s a Toyota RAV 4 with an awesome navigation system, camera in the back and a whole bunch of other stuff we don’t know how to use.  We did consider a convertible sports car but it would have shocked the children :D

On Friday we’re going to France!  Yeah Honey, France!  First we’ll go to the parent-teachers conference, then to a hotel with Jade for the night and then we’re going to the Strasbourg Christmas fair, the oldest one in France.  Have a very Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

Schweinebauch

3-4 lb pork belly

Salt

Emeril’s essence or your favorite pork rub

2 fennel bulbs, trimmed and sliced into 5 or 6 slices each

3 carrots, halved

1 onion, quartered

3 shallots, halved

1 apple, cut into eighths

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp white wine vinegar

1 tbsp fresh rosemary, chopped

The day before cooking, score the pork belly skin in a diamond pattern and rub all over with salt and then Emeril’s essence.  Refrigerate overnight, uncovered.

Remove the belly from the refrigerator and gently blot any moisture on the skin with a paper towel.

Mix the vegetables and apple with the olive oil, vinegar and rosemary, then put in the bottom of a baking pan or tajine.  Place the pork belly on top.  Do not cover.

Roast the pork belly in a 350 F oven for 1 hour and 30 minutes.  Increase the temperature to 400 F and continue to roast for an additional 30 minutes.  Allow the pork belly to rest for 10-15 minutes before slicing.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, German, Korean, Main dishes, Recipes, Soup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Schweinebauch

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Excellent, that pork looks good and I must try those eggs. I hope you have a good time at the Strasbourg Christmas fair – it should be very good :-)

  2. Tessa says:

    Looks delicious! Knowing that you have quite the tajine collection, I was starting to wonder why you used the same tajine for the past few posts… Have a wonderful Thanksgiving Rosemary!

  3. And a happy Thanksgiving to you also Tessa.

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely stuff. Have a very happy Thanksgiving Rosemary.
    Best,
    Conor

  5. Jon says:

    Looks great. It’s odd but it’s a bit hard to find pork belly here in Mex as a cut, either in supermarkets or at the butcher’s, although it is always available in tacos at the carnitas stand.

  6. Your cooking is so excellent and unusual for the foods we have available here. I love visiting! I can’t wait to see your photos of the Fair!! xx

  7. Karen says:

    You certainly made two delicious meals using what you had. I know you will enjoy the Christmas fair…it is a lovely one to go to.

  8. pure awesome-ness! Also, I have nominated you for the Sunshine Blog Award. What does this mean? Not sure… You need to answer some questions and stuff… Suss my post on the award.

  9. I have nominated you for several awards, The Super Sweet Blogging Award and the Blogger of the Year 2012. If you’re interested, please check out the following link http://susartandfood.wordpress.com/2012/11/23/super-sweet-blogging-award-and-blogger- of-the-year-award-2012/

  10. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful, Rosemary.

    Glad to see quail eggs make a reappearance :-) I was missing them!

  11. I love the idea of fennel and pork, a great combination. I also wish we could get quail eggs around here.

  12. rsmacaalay says:

    Wow that pork looks so good, and did you mention crispy skin. Mmmmm so drooling now.
    And for the car nice pick, I would also pick RAV4 over a convertible, its so useful

  13. Tess says:

    Love pork belly. LOL I remember decades ago in northern Michigan listening on the radio AG reports about the pork belly market but never knew how good the meat would be until I began my study of Japanese cooking a few years ago.

    Your buckwheat noodles look so good. And you know, my daughter bought some just the other day! Guess what we’re eating tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

