Tajine Braised Smoked Pork Ribs

Since I retrieved it from Sens, I seem to be using my Emile Henry tajine a lot.  Emile Henry is not paying me, but he should be :)  Maybe I’m using it a lot because it’s great for cold weather foods, has a cover and is easy to wash.  Nah!  It’s just because I want to :D

Whenever I see green beans and potatoes,  I think of my mother who used to cook potatoes and green beans TOGETHER in a pot with a ham hock and leave to visit her friends for a couple of hours.  Gray, soupy and easy to digest.  Good tasting.

Cruising through Kaufland Supermarket, I saw some smoked pork ribs and wondered how the Germans cooked them.

Curiosity killed the cat.  When I got home and looked for a recipe on the web, it seemed that they are primarily used as part of a German choucroute with sauerkraut and other random pieces of pork.  I like and eat sauerkraut but have never been interested in making anything with it.

With inspiration from Bradley Smoker  http://www.bradleysmoker.com/recipes/cold-smoked-braised-baby-backs/, I decided to use the site’s braising liquid, but to add herbs and what not.  The ribs were tender and succulent with a vague sweet and sour taste.  Wunderbar!

Tajine Braised Smoked Pork Ribs

1 slab smoked pork ribs, cut into 2 or 3 pieces

2 onions, sliced

5 garlic cloves, smashed

3 bay leaves, broken in halves

5 fresh thyme sprigs

1 tsp dried rosemary

1 cup white wine

2 tbsp white wine vinegar

1 tbsp honey

Place the onions, garlic, bay leaves, thyme and rosemary in the bottom of a tajine.  Place the ribs on top.

Mix the wine, vinegar and honey together,  then pour over the top of the ribs.  Cover with a top and cook in a 350 F oven for about 2 hours, basting with the pan juices every 30 minutes.  Serve with potatoes and green beans.

Beverage suggestion:  Cider

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, German, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Tajine Braised Smoked Pork Ribs

  1. Clever use of the tagine and good flavours.

  2. Mmmm I love ribs! these smoked ribs look great, would be good braised in beer too.
    Lovely herby flavours here though.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  3. Mad Dog says:

    That looks like a winner!

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    You might tempt me into buying one of those tajines yet. Beautiful looking dish.
    Best,
    Conor

  5. Tessa says:

    I’m always intrigued by what you cook up with your tajines. Looks delicious!

  6. Potatoes and green beans cooked together are delicious! I love the recipe.

  7. Yummy, yummy! Great pairing with the beans and potatoes — which look neither soupy nor gray :-)

  8. The meat looks wonderful. And green beans with potatoes is one of my favorite veggie pairings.

Leave a Reply

