Glazed Smoked Pork Chops

Last Saturday we went to a culinary fair here in Stuttgart.  The entrance fee was 10 euros, which covered the cost of wine and food tasting.  I took lots of pictures before discovering there was no card in the camera.  Anyway.

To our surprise,  there was an American Heritage stall http://www.american-heritage.de !   I’ve always associated American Heritage with furniture, but this is a German company carrying a variety of house and garden imports from the U.S., including sauces and other cooking condiments.  I bought an interesting vidalia onion and fig sauce for closer scrutiny.  The presence of fig in the sauce made me think of duck but I had smoked pork chops waiting impatiently in the fridge, so that’s why.

In addition, on Monday, the Executive Suites manager, Uli, was kind enough to take us on a mini tour of two German wineries and an amazing store called Fresh Paradise http://www.frischeparadies.eu/.  They have everything and I’ve found a surprise for you Frugal honey :)  But you’ll have to wait.

Even “Les Chatons Horribles” need their rest after a night of galloping up and down in the apartment.  Of course I yanked the covers off.

Glazed Smoked Pork Chops

6 smoked pork chops

1/2 bottle of Stonewall Kitchen Vidalia Onion Fig Sauce or any other fruity sauce

2 onions, quartered

2 large potatoes, cut into wedges (about 8 each)

2 apples, quartered

3-4 sprigs fresh thyme

Salt and pepper

1 tbsp olive oil

Marinate the pork shops in the fig sauce for a couple of hours.  Mix the onions, potatoes, apples, thyme, salt, pepper and olive oil together and place in the bottom of a tajine.  Place the pork chops on top, cover and roast in a 400 F oven for 45 minutes.  Uncover and roast for an addition 10 -15 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Glazed Smoked Pork Chops

  1. Tessa says:

    Too bad about the camera card… I hate it when I do stuff like that. But on the bright side, those pork chops look delicious and your photography is wonderful as usual.

  2. Glad you’re find some good food in your new location. These look yummy. I bet they’d be good with non-smoked as well…

  3. Gorgeous food and a gorgeous, quintessential cat! :D

  4. chefconnie says:

    Stonewall Kitchen products are yummy. Recipe looks great.

  5. Karen says:

    It is a shame about the card being missing but your meal sounds delicious. Stonewall Kitchen’s factory is just across the New Hampshire border in Maine. I use lots of their products and they are all good. It sounds like you are enjoying life a little more as you are settling in Germany. I know that you are looking forward to a permanent place to hang your hat but I think you are making the most of it for now.

    • Hi Karen. I’d never heard of Stonewall Kitchen but the sauce was very good. I AM starting to feel more comfortable in Germany and it helps that a brought up some of my blogging props from France :)

  6. What a nice pairing of ingredients. Sounds just delicious. My other half adores figs and I know he would like this.

  7. Conor Bofin says:

    I am envious of the tagine. Lovely looking food too.
    Best,
    Conor

  8. Michelle says:

    Cool that you can find Stonewall Kitchen products in Europe. They are quite good. But what I’d really like to say is: Kitty!!! So cute.

  9. I’m not a cat person but that photo made me coo. So cute!

    A surprise for Frugal? I can’t wait either :-)

  10. Sounds like you’re having a great time. Cool kitten shot.

  11. Mad Dog says:

    Those chops sound fantastic and that cat’s too cute ;-)

  12. Another great looking dish…love smoked chops. I’m stealing the term “Les Chatons Horribles!”

  13. Pingback: Raisin Baked Pork Chops | familyrecipebooks

  14. Nice;I’m very much into fruited glazes lately…love the kitty!

  15. rsmacaalay says:

    The glaze makes it even more tempting, so yummy and that cat is so cute

  16. Thank you so much! Great recipe for a great sauce! Nice pictures, too!

  17. Caroline says:

    Thank you for sharing this recipe. Made it tonight (add baby carrot, for the color and more veggy), turned out great. Such a comfort food in this cold Michigan winter. The flavor also reminds me of Germany when i used to travel there for work. Enjoyed it so much. Potatos has the best flavor

Leave a Reply

