Kalbsleber with Mustard Sauce

I found a butcher today.  He was a block away downhill from the apartment.  He’s probably seen me ride by many times in the car with my husband, head whipping around, desperately searching for a butcher and/or fish monger.  I like to think that as I was passing, he was waving frantically, pointing to his sign and screaming, “Over here, a butcher shop is called metzgerei, you dumb hillbilly!”  In any case, we were glad to finally see each other.

The shop is small but is a combination meat, poultry, fish, charcuterie, cheese market with  a take out counter for sandwiches in the corner.  Everything very fresh looking and his veal liver was lovely!  Pictures after I know him better.  And look how easy it is to get the things you want:  calf’s liver = kalbsleber.  I’m speaking Germany!

With all the whining I did about not being able to find lardon, the very next time I went to a supermarket, it was there.  I need to consider meditation or something.  Aren’t purple onions beautiful?  Ohm, Ohm :D

Of course I bought the veal liver, and some spinach to go with it in case of a virulent attack of anemia, or at least that’s what I’m going to tell my husband when he finds out he’s having liver for dinner.  It’s not like we didn’t vote!  My husband’s absentee ballot counts as 1 no.  Jade yes.  Rosemary yes.  Democracy is awesome!

Calf’s Liver with Mustard Sauce

2 shallots, thinly sliced

3 tbsp butter

1/4 cup white wine vinegar

1/2 cup veal or chicken broth

1 heaping tbsp Dijon mustard (Amora)

3-4 slices of veal liver

Salt and pepper

Flour

1 tbsp butter

First make the mustard sauce by sauteing the shallots in 2 tablespoon of the the butter until soft.  Add the vinegar and boil until the liquid is reduced to half.  Add the broth and boil until the liquid is reduced to half again.  Whisk in the remaining tablespoon of butter until smooth, then whisk in the mustard.  Set aside and keep warm.

Season the liver with salt and pepper, then dust with flour.  Fry 3 minutes per side in the tablespoon of butter.  Serve immediately with the sauce.

Wine suggestion:  Cremant de Bourgogne

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Kalbsleber with Mustard Sauce

  1. cecilia says:

    I have some lambs liver in the freezer that i have no idea what do do with. This does look good and i would only buy liver from a good butcher.. did you bring your cutlery with you? I thought maybe we were still in france doing the shopping! c

  2. Michelle says:

    I understand now that what I need to do it get a 3rd person (one on my side) in the household. Steve’s no to my yes always results in a stalemate. Looks wunderbar to me! And that’s about all the Germany I know.

  3. I think I’m low in iron.. I’m off to find my own butcher today.. luckily I dont’ have to speak “Germany”:)

  4. I would love to be near a butcher, fishmonger, etc. All we have is a large supermarket. There is a nice butcher near my MIL and I enjoyed going in and picking out various cuts.

  5. Pingback: Kalbsleber with Mustard Sauce | " ErryBali "

  6. Tessa says:

    It’s not too often that I see calf liver in the store… And, when I do, I always pick some up. I love to make it fried with onions and a small squeeze of lemon. I gotta say that your liver dish looks divine!

  7. Conor Bofin says:

    I have been turned off lambs liver by repeatedly getting it after it has gone past its best. Butchers use a trick of wiping it with vinegar to give it back a sheen. When one frys it, there is a faint odour of vinegar and the inevitable grainy, crumbly liver tasting awful. Damn butchers! I love liver.
    Sorry for the rant. I like yours and approve of the funky cutlery.
    Best,
    Conor

  8. Pingback: Meat Loaf | Cooking in Sens

  9. Mad Dog says:

    Excellent news – German food is improving :-)

  10. A good butcher is worth their weight in gold! The recipe looks wonderful.

  11. Pingback: Like Butter! | Cooking in Sens

  12. Pingback: Kalbsleber with Mustard Sauce | MBSIB: The Man...

Leave a Reply

