Roasted Goose Sandwich with Bottom of the Pan Relish

First of all, congratulations to the American people for yet another free and fair election.  Mr. Romney you fought the good fight.  Good luck to you President Obama in your second term.

I couldn’t help but notice these mini-ham shaped packages with a goose pictured on the top and what looked like a cooked leg of poultry on the bottom in the freezer bins of most  Stuttgart supermarkets.  It looked like a popular German thing to me so I thought, why not buy one, I can look it up on the internet when I get home and work something out.  I found out that gansekeulen means goose leg and I was thinking, whoa, that’s got to be a big goose!  But when I opened the package there were actually two goose legs, cleverly fitted together to form the ham shaped package.  Very cool, German people!

I looked up recipes for goose legs on the internet but didn’t find them very interesting.  I like red cabbage and apples but cooked together with the legs for 3 hours sounded like pate to me.  I remembered a roasted pork recipe from Jamie Oliver’s magazine http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/01/25/roasted-pork-sandwich-with-bottom-of-the-pan-relish/that I thought might work as well for the goose legs.  It did.

I brought one of my tajines from Sens and the legs fit perfectly inside with the apples, onions, dried plums, carrots and garlic.  Happy Days!  You could probably substitute turkey legs for the goose legs.

Roasted Goose Sandwich with Bottom of the Pan Relish

2 goose legs

1 1/2 tsp dried rosemary leaves

1 1/2 tsp dried thyme leaves

3 bay leaves, broken in half

2 red onions, quartered

3 large carrots

1 head of garlic

3 apples, cored

Dried seedless prunes

Salad greens

Mayonnaise

Sandwich rolls

Stab lots of slits in the legs and stuff with the herbs and bay leaf.  Place the onions, carrots, garlic head and the apples stuffed with the prunes in the bottom of a tajine.    Roast for 30 minutes at 400 degrees Fahrenheit.  Lower the temperature to 325 degrees Fahrenheit, cover and continue to roast for 1 – 1 1/2 hours, pouring off the goose fat twice.  Remove the tajine and allow to cool for about 15 minutes.

Squeeze the roasted garlic into the pan bottom and discard the husk.  Lightly mash the vegetables and fruits together, then spread some of this mixture on one half of each sandwich roll, spread mayonnaise on the other half, then top with sliced goose and salad greens.

Wine suggestion:  Pinot Grigio or Beer

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, English, Food and Wine, German, Main dishes, Recipes, Sandwich and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Roasted Goose Sandwich with Bottom of the Pan Relish

  1. That looks really excellent – both the roll and the tajine. Germans are more about ” Vorsprung durch technik ” than “cool”, I think, although Berlin is meant to be tres cool indeed:)

  2. Mad Dog says:

    They look great and I have a feeling they are reasonably cheap too!

  3. Mary Frances says:

    My goodness, this looks tasty!

  4. Paula says:

    What a nice surprise open the package and find two legs! It would make my day!! :P

    As always when you cook duck or chicken, I love what you make!! Nice combination of ingredients, I think!!

    They looks delicious!! And from october to december I don’t stop cooking every type of poultry, so perhaps I can try it!!

  5. This looks so good I could pick it up off the page. I haven’t had goose in a long time. Perhaps with Christmas coming up I will satisfy that urge. With fall dropping it’s blanket over our summer, I am of a mood for a cup of steaming soup and a hearty sandwich. This would definitely fill the bill.

  6. It just occurred to me…I have been in exile in Kentucky (I hope you understand) for 18 years…I have not seen a goose in any market here…

  7. Zlew says:

    Wow, it looks really tasty :D I’d like to prepare it myself but i think it’s beyond my abilities :D

  8. Looks nice…wish I could find goose cheaply here in the States!

  9. rsmacaalay says:

    Thats a really nice sandwich, love the use of goose here

  10. Pingback: Balsamic Gansebrust with Courgettes | Cooking in Sens

  11. Tessa says:

    Lovely dish. I bet that sandwich tasted fabulous!

Leave a Reply

