Fig Tarte Tatin

Included in the  items on my shopping list for France were Amora mustard, Veuve Clicquot and butter.  EU or not, Dijon style mustard and Veuve Clicquot are a lot more expensive in Germany; 43 Euros for the Veuve as compared to 32.  The only decent butter I’ve found here is Irish, not bad, but it still can’t compare to the butter from Haute Savoie, Beurre du Faucigny or Echire from Roger’s neck of the woods.

The weirdest thing happened when I bought the butter.  Beurre du Faucigny is not available in the supermarkets but can be found at the cheese stalls in the farmers’ market.  I went to the cheese stall formerly owned by M. Parret and now owned by a pleasant young couple from the area because even though Parret doesn’t own it anymore, it still bears his name and loyalty seems to be involved.  In other words, everyone in the market would tell if I went to another cheese stall :)

Anyway, I greeted the new owner and asked for 10 blocks of Faucigny.  I kid you not, he said, “But that’s almost all of my butter!” and turned to look at his wife as if I’d asked for a free Brie de Meaux or something.  He shuffled around behind the counter for a while, wringing his hands and looking almost frightened or frightening.  This was obviously a case of temporary market insanity that I’ve heard of but never witnessed; stall owner refuses to sell his wares.  I stepped a little away from the counter, Roger, but held out my basket.  No way I was leaving France without that butter!  I told M. Parret about this and he just laughed and gabbled something about the butter maybe being the last of his stock??!!  Seems to me that would be desirable; “Look honey, we’ve sold all the Faucigny!  Foie gras tonight!”  M. Parret says that a new mega market, Autun, has opened up on the road to Auxerre and along with Carrefour, Leclerc and Grand Frais is threatening the market stall owners’ income.  And maybe their sanity?  Well, he sold me the butter but maybe I had started to look frightening myself :D

With my husband arriving on Saturday, I decided to make cotriade http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/10/30/cotriade-glorious-fish-soup-from-bretagne/ and have dinner with the Parrets.  There’ll be no pictures of the cotriade or the Parrets because I completely loss my temper and patience taking pictures of the tarte, of which I’m not proud, using Jade’s tripod.  Ugly pictures, good tasting tarte.

Easy Fig Tarte Tatin

8 tbsp butter

3/4 cup sugar

1 lb figs, halved

1 pre-rolled pie crust (pate brisee)

Melt the butter in the bottom of an oven proof tart pan.  Remove from the flame and sprinkle on sugar.  Place the figs, cut side down, on top of the sugar, return to a medium high flame and cook until the sugar has caramelized, about 10-15 minutes.

Place the pie crust on top and, with the handle of a wooden spoon,  poke the overhang down into the inside of the pan.  Poke a few holes in the pastry with a fork.

Bake the tart in a 375 F oven for about 30-40 minutes until the pastry has browned.  Place a serving plate on top of the baking pan and quickly flip over.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Dessert, Food and Wine, French, Fruit, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Fig Tarte Tatin

  1. Not ugly pictures at all – think it looks lovely! And so funny about the butter – I did the same here a few months back at the nutchers and bought all his smoked streaky bacon. He, on the other hand, seemed very happy about it!

  2. Butchers, butchers! Not some strange sort of nut shop that sold bacon ;)

  3. Jon says:

    Nice post, I’ve had that happen here in Méx. (“But I won’t have anything left to sell”).

  4. Tessa says:

    Beautiful figs!

  5. Mad Dog says:

    Two posts in one day and I see you got up extra early to fit more in!
    That butter reaction seemed quite typically french to me – did he shrug his shoulders while looking sheepish?
    The tart looks perfectly lovely to me :-)

  6. trangquynh says:

    the tart looks so gorgeous and mouth-watering, I really love figs ^^

  7. I agree! They are beautiful pictures!

    I too love Amora Mustard. It’s the best. And it comes in those awesome pots that double as glasses. I have a whole set and cherish their indestructibility!

    And good for you for getting that butter! I can imagine their panic though . . .

  8. Conor Bofin says:

    Ha! The butter story is a mirror of an experience I had in Bordeaux. I was buying garlic for half the known world, or so it seemed. I asked for 15 tresses. He did exactly what your butter guy did. In the end he relented and sold me the garlic, giving me a bag of shallots as a thank you.
    The pics are not that bad at all. I am deeply envious of your fig tart.
    Best,
    Conor

  9. This makes me miss figs, but not the weather that comes with them.

  10. Is it very sweet Rose? Figs are so naturally sweet I wondered. The traditional tart tatin starts with a tarter apple with that added caramalized sweetness making the contrast part of the final wonderful flavor.

  11. rsmacaalay says:

    Ohhhh that looks so good! I wanna slice

  12. Oh my, that certainly looks decadent, Rosemary…

  13. Paula says:

    wow!! How didn’t I think about this before!! I love tarte Tatin, and not only apples, I’ve tried it with banana, plums, even mango, and never figs!!

    But then, you see it, and is the best idea!! It’s a pity that figs are not so good here at these days, so I’ll have to wait next year, you can be sure I’ll remember!! I save the recipe ;)

    Nice situation at the shop, is funny!! :P

  14. trixpin says:

    Ha ha! That butter malarkey is too funny :)
    What a gorgeous looking tart. Our fig tree produces beautiful looking figs every year but they always shrivel and die before they ripen. Stoopid fruit tree ;) Might have to buy some in for this recipe …

Leave a Reply

