Duck Breast and Vegetable Stir Fry

Parents, especially mothers, are frequently criticized because they have difficulty accepting that their children have grown into adult men and women with all the common sense that that implies.  SMH.  His father did the same thing about 30 years ago, in the same country, also standing on the animal’s back.    Case closed.

Anyway, Shinae Choi Robinson’s marinade for pork chops https://plus.google.com/u/0/+ShinaeChoiRobinson/posts/bHuvkF3gRwv inspired me to try a duck breast stir fry, using German duck for the first time.

The German duck is good but with a different flavor than the duck in France.  I imagine that most of the duck breasts we were eating in France came from foie gras ducks; I know that was true of the ones I bought from Jean-Louis http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/04/02/duck-breast-with-mango-sauce/.  Still, the enten or duck in Germany is good and perhaps leaner.

Over the years I’ve wasted so much money on mini-choppers, never satisfied with the blades and/or motor performance.  This is my new mini-chopper and I’m finally happy :)

I cooked the duck first in the wok along with the marinade paste, then removed it from the pan.  When you stir fry the vegetables, whatever kind you like, cook the firmer vegetables first.  In this case, the order would be broccoli, peppers, mushrooms and napa cabbage, with the duck and it’s juices added back in at the finish.

Duck Breast and Vegetable Stir Fry

2 duck breasts, sliced thin

1 shallot, quartered

2 green onions, cut into 1 inch pieces

1 inch piece of ginger, quartered

3 cloves garlic, quartered

1 tsp curry powder

1 tbsp sesame oil

2 tbsp soy sauce

2 tbsp mirin

2 tbsp vegetable oil

1/2 small head broccoli, separated into florets

1/4 red bell pepper, sliced

1/4 yellow bell pepper, sliced

1/2 cup mushrooms, sliced

1/4 head napa cabbage, sliced

Soy sauce

Asian noodles, cooked

In a chopper, blender or food processor, make a paste with the shallot, green onions, ginger, garlic, curry powder, sesame oil, soy sauce and mirin.  Mix the paste with the sliced duck and refrigerate for 2-4 hours.

Remove the duck from the refrigerator and pour the mixture into a hot wok, stir frying to sear the meat.  Remove and set aside.

Add 2 tbsp vegetable oil to the wok, add the broccoli and stir fry for 1 minute.  Add the peppers and stir fry for 1 minute.  Add the mushrooms and stir fry for 1 minute.  Add the cabbage, remove from flame and add the seared duck.  Return to the flame and cook for no more than 2 minutes.   Sprinkle with soy sauce and serve over noodles.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Duck Breast and Vegetable Stir Fry

  1. Jesse says:

    yum yum yum.. can’t wait to try it

  2. That sounds absolutely delicious. I think your son’s surf board is a very smart idea as it will swim back to you, very quickly, when you fall off thus eliminating the annoying leash:)

  3. kiisu23 says:

    Sounds delicious!

  4. I’ll eat magret de canard cooked in all kinds of ways, and this looks especially good with the stir-fried vegetables. It’s interesting to hear that German duck breast tastes different to French. All ours seem to come from the south-west so I suppose they must be foie gras ducks, although they’re not usually as fatty as the ones I bought at the foire au gras in the south-west.

  5. Tessa says:

    Lovely stir fry! If my son sent me a picture of him posing with an alligator, I guarantee we would be having quite the lively conversation on the importance of human limbs. Then, I would say “nice photo, don’t do it again” :).

  6. Karista says:

    I do love a good stir fry but rarely make one. This looks divine and I think I must put duck on the menu this season. :) I take it the young man is your son? How adventurous! You must have been nervous for him. Were you there?

  7. Mad Dog says:

    Crocodile tastes good – I recommend shooting it before standing on its back! Duck’s very good too – one of my favourites ;-)

  8. Looks… dangerous. Nice looking dish though. I bought a stick blender that comes with a food processor attachment (£55) – it is SO good. I love it.

  9. Those stick blenders are so popular! I’ve always thought the visits to the sacred crocodiles were dangerous.

  10. Ooh that looks delicious

  11. joshuafagans says:

    I adore duck but never thought to use it in a stir fry. Sounds good!

  12. You are right about the French duck, the meat is more juicy then the German Ente. Oh my, your stir fry recipe sounds really delicious! Your son does look very proud.

  13. Gorgeous looking stir fry! I can see why you wouldn’t be able to watch your son or husband doing that. It makes me nervous just to see the picture. :)

  14. Vonzel Sawyer says:

    This dish looks scrumptuous! Give me a call when you have a chance!

  15. Congrats on finding your mini-chopper! Duck looks delicious. I’m sure you will adjust in no time to German ducks, but relish getting your hands on French ones back in Sens!

  16. rsmacaalay says:

    Wow are those real! thats some scary stuff, I wont dare coming near those crocs

  17. bali tour says:

    Look amazing :)
    i would like to try it :D

Leave a Reply

