Poached Egg with Labskaus

Labskaus is essentially a beet corned beef hash or as it’s called in the U.S., red flannel hash.  The idea of a red flannel hash has never appealed to me, so I’ve never eaten it.  But there were those beets sitting in a small apartment refrigerator to get through, therefore, labskaus.

It’s interesting to note the German cuisine that made a successful, if modified, transition to the States; hot dogs, hamburgers, meatloaf, sauerkraut, hot potato salad, potato pancakes, corned beef, etc.  Corned beef is called rindersaftschink in German.  I found this out by peering into a supermarket deli counter, looking for anything that started with “rinder”.  I found a likely suspect and asked for a taste.  Yep, corned beef without the spices.  I guess the translation would be beef ham.

This was a little fiddly, in that you had to dice everything, but not grueling.  Just turn on Classic and Jazz http://www.classicandjazz.net/.

Et voila, c’est fait!

When my husband was in Pennsylvania sorting out our new house, he found an old, very sad looking, large and deep, cast iron skillet in a second hand shop for $5!  That’s right Frugal baby!  :D  I’m working on re-seasoning it.  I should have had before and after pictures.

I didn’t use the skillet for the labskaus, it’s not ready yet.  I used a large non-stick that worked fine.

The onions, beef and potatoes are first cooked in oil until the potatoes are crusty and brown.  The beets are added for a minute or two at the end, so if you really don’t want the beets, don’t have them.  Haters :)  It’s perfectly good without beets.

And perfectly good with beets.

Original recipe at: http://www.kitchenproject.com/german/recipes/Beef/Labskaus/index.htm

We’re going to France tomorrow to get Jade from school, it’s her school vacation, and to have a cup of coffee and probably a glass or two of corked wine.

Labskaus

3 medium potatoes, cooked and then diced

1 onion, diced

1/2 lb corned beef, cooked and diced

2-3 tbsp olive oil

Salt and pepper

1 1/2 cup beets, diced

Brown the potatoes, onion and beef in the oil until the potatoes are crusty and brown.  Add the beets and cook for 1-2 minutes.  Serve with poached or fried eggs.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, German, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Poached Egg with Labskaus

  1. Love the video. The US has a huge German population so I guess you’re bound to have a lot of Germanic dishes in your cuisine, as with Italian, Polish.etc. I think the only race that hasn’t brought much to the table are the Irish – but don’t tell your old man that I said that:)

    • Hi Roger. I read that the Germans were America’s largest immigrant group in the 19th and early 20th centuries. As for Irish cuisine, I’ve noticed in my travels that countries of extreme poverty rarely develop cuisines, the exception is Ethiopia. They just eat the edible.

  2. WHO Rose. The “corked stuff.” Button down the bank account!

  3. That’s just reminded me, (linda) that my mum used to make corned beef hash a lot, when I was a kid. Nice pics!

  4. What a great dish and I’ve always loved the name too.

  5. Pingback: Poached Egg with Labskaus | À Catanada na Cozinha Magazine | Scoop.it

  6. Jon says:

    Digging the cast iron pan!

  7. Tessa says:

    Cool skillet! Does a wine with a plastic cork count :D?

  8. Nice! Looks like you are learning Germany at a fast clip ;-)

    Enjoyed that corked wine!

  9. An egg poached to perfection, Rosemary! It looks lovely :)

  10. tonettejoyce says:

    Basic and wonderful! The corned beef here (in my part of the US) looks nothing like yours,(which does look like ham). Ours is flat brisket of beef…and we do say ‘Corned Beef Hash’. That is the way it is listed on the canned products,(which are not good, by the way.It probably would keep a number of people from trying to make it on their own, but it is more than worth it.)

    • Thank you Joyce. Corned beef refers to a process, rather than a cut of beef. I’ve made homemade corned beef with a brisket(traditional) and when unable to find a brisket in Africa, any likely cut of beef.

      • tonettejoyce says:

        Oh, yes,I know that; what I was saying is that they don’t use a large cut,(ham-like) in your picture; they only ‘corn’ brisket, ( we have a choice of point or flat cut cuts).
        I am just brain washed,I guess,into thinking of corned beef in narrow cuts like brisket. It must take quite some time to get all the way through a thick cut. Thanks for making me think of using thicker cuts. And it’s “Tonette” ,by the way; Joyce is my last name.

  11. Mad Dog says:

    Nice skillet – my large cast iron one is American with seasoning instructions embedded in the base (must be part of the cast). I might have to leave the beets out – I used to like them but got ill one day after beetroot salad and now I find them a struggle. I do like the idea of little cubes of beef and fried potato with an egg on top though ;-)

  12. thehungrymum says:

    A perfectly poached egg is just divine. This looks lovely.

  13. My best friend when growing up was German.. and now I get why her mom always made this dish for us. It’s a classic!

  14. rsmacaalay says:

    Very nice dish, love the flavours in it. Colours are lovely as well

  15. peachkins says:

    my first time here and my first time to see labskaus too!!!

Leave a Reply

