Beet and Feta Salad with Lemon Vinaigrette

My husband has always liked beets and, since I’ve found more interesting ways to prepare  them than his or my mother did, I do too.  This is a quick and easy way to enjoy them.  Buy the pre-cooked beets or stand there, peel, boil or roast.

Beet and Feta Salad with Lemon Vinaigrette

2 tbsp lemon juice

1/2 tsp mustard

1 shallot, finely chopped

1 tbsp parsley, finely chopped

Salt and pepper

4 tbsp olive oil

4 beets, cooked and sliced

Feta cheese, crumbled

Mache or roquette

Make the vinaigrette by whisking the lemon juice, mustard, shallot, parsley, salt, pepper and olive oil together.  Set aside.

Put a layer of mache on a serving plate, top with the beet slices, sprinkle on the feta cheese and drizzle with the vinaigrette.

Beverage suggestion:  A flute of German sekt

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Recipes, Salad, side dish and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Beet and Feta Salad with Lemon Vinaigrette

  1. Beets and feta are such a wonderful combination. YUM!

  2. YUM!!!!!! Now back to those ribs, mine on the BBQ!

  3. Beets and goat cheese or blue cheese are one of my favorite flavor combos. Looks yummy.

  4. Oh, and good luck in Germany. As an ex-expat, I can only imagine how much more difficult it is to get settled in when you do not speak the language!

    • I love blue and roquefort. I’m trying that next! Thank you! Yes, we’ve only been in countries where French or English were spoken but it will be okay. All I need are the greetings and everything to do with food and cooking :)

  5. I love beets. Sometimes they’re hard to find up here in the north country but this looks so good. You mentioned roquefort, which I absolutely love. My mother makes the best homemade roquefort dressing in the world. I could eat it with a spoon.

  6. suebthefoodie says:

    I love beets. Your salad sounds delish. Thx for sharing. Have you ever used the golden variety? They are stunning. -Cheers

  7. ambrosiana says:

    Beets and feta cheese is a win win combination. I love the sweetness of beets and the acidity of feta cheese!

  8. When the weather warms again I’ll have to make this for my husband. He loves beets.

  9. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely recipe. One of my favourites at a local sandwich place is goat’s cheese, beetroot, walnut and lambs lettuce. Not that it could come up to your standard.
    Best,
    Conor

  10. Anna says:

    Beautiful photo btw!

  11. Tessa says:

    I vote for the precooked beets! Lovely salad!

  12. I love how you have been rocking the beets! Looks delicious!

  13. Mad Dog says:

    Delicious and very attractive too ;-)

  14. Karista says:

    I just love beets, especially roasted beets. I’ve got two bunches in the downstairs frig. You’ve inpired me. Were having beet and feta salad tonight!

  15. rsmacaalay says:

    Very nice and simple salad, I would try this one.

  16. Pingback: Beet and Pear Pizazz Salad « Allergy Bites

  17. Pingback: Roasted beet salad « Chef Doru's Blog

Leave a Reply

