Laid Back Sunday

My husband loves breakfast.  He loves it so much that, like his Dad, he always wants to make weekend breakfast for the family.

I remember, after our marriage, visiting his folks for the first time on the weekend.  On Saturday night we had stayed up until about 1:00 a.m., drinking “highballs”, playing cards and talking about “back in the day”.  At 6:00 a.m. my husband’s father shouted into our bedroom, “Who wants eggs”?  Jesus, Mary and Joseph!  I thought it was an Irish thing but my husband assured me it was just his father.

Anyway.  I have to say that it’s so nice, to be together with most of my family for Sunday breakfast and lunch.  Our son is working away in Burkina Faso but Jade is here until Monday because of a teachers’ work day and I wanted to make something that everyone loves.  I didn’t have the usual ingredients for the potato salad but I added some sundried tomatoes for color and that turned out okay.

Because my husband is on loan from the Department of State to the military, we have access to the commissary and PX which carry American products, including meats.  Beef ribs, baby!  I went for the oven shot!  I don’t think this oven has ever been used.  No worries, housekeeping is coming tomorrow :)

While I was wishing for more attractive tableware, my husband was wishing I’d just take the picture so he could eat :D  I love my family!

Oven Barbecued Beef Ribs and Sundried Tomato Potato Salad

2 slabs of beef back ribs

Olive oil

Salt and pepper

Garlic powder

Paprika

Dried oregano

Dried rosemary

Barbecue sauce

1 lb potatoes, peeled, cut into cubes and boiled

1/2 large onion, chopped

2 hardboiled eggs, vaguely chopped

4-5 sundried tomatoes, sliced

Salt and pepper

2 tbsp mustard

1/3 – 1/2 cup mayonnaise

Rub the ribs with olive oil then sprinkle with salt, pepper, garlic powder, paprika, oregano and rosemary.  Rub the spices in and refrigerate for at least 2 hours.

Mix together the potatoes, onion, eggs, tomatoes, salt, pepper, mustard and mayonnaise.  Place in the refrigerator until ready to serve.

Slow roast the ribs at 250-300 F for 1 1/2 hours until tender.  Baste with the barbecue sauce and return to the oven for about 15 minutes.

Wine suggestion:  Orvieto Classico table wine or beer

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, side dish and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Laid Back Sunday

  1. My husband loves to make the eggs here as well.. Yours looks absolutely thrilled to sit down to those ribs! I would be too!

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Can I borrow your cleaner ;-)
    I went to take photographs at RAF Alconbury, back in the 80′s, of a Top Gun like program the American Air Force were running for European Air Forces. I was amazed to find that every single item of food and drink was shipped in from America. I also saw a fantastic collection of cars from the 60′s and the Black Bird, which was top secret in those days.

  3. Tessa says:

    Those beef ribs look fabulous! I’m curious what brand of American bbq sauce do you prefer? And the egg in toast is one of my favorite ways to prepare eggs on the weekend! Simply delicious!

  4. Lovely ribs Rosemary, beef ribs rock!
    Cheers
    Marcus

  5. rsmacaalay says:

    I have some ribs in the freezer and will be making this in the weekend. I got most of the ingredients

  6. Looks like it’s all working out OK:)

  7. It´s good be able to have products you are familair with and new and exciting local ones – I know you are enjoying the best of everything! And I can relate to your husband wiaitng to eat. Big Man always asks me know “do we have to take a photo first”? Great ribs by the way!

  8. Delicious looking ribs, and a lovely salad bowl too!

  9. sarah says:

    Lovely recipe! Could you post a link to the recipe for the chicken dish on your cover photo. Thanks!

  10. tonettejoyce says:

    This looks wonderful! I love your attitude…I will be tooling around your blog !

  11. I know that look. Patience…get it over with so we can puhleeze eat. Those ribs look terrific!!

Leave a Reply

