Shrimp Soba Noodles

I think I’m allergic to Germany!  Just kid-ding.  But I do have a terrible cold.  It’s probably from going in and out of those really cold houses during our house hunting forays.  Boy howdy, you wouldn’t believe some of the kitchens!  Big, beautiful homes with marble everywhere, landscaped gardens, roller skating rink bathrooms, saunas and tiny, dark, dank kitchens.  You can bet that no one ever went into those kitchens but the maid.

Mad Dog made chili for his cold, and good looking chili it is http://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/.  But I decided to go for a noodle fix, as I had all those great ingredients I bought at Boehm’s.

I also received my traveling knives that had been stuck in the U.S. for about a year.  They are not as good as my “real” knives but they are not bad.

I made the stock for the noodles in a “can’t be bothered” manner.  I had bought some chicken bouillon granules from this Megastore called Kaufland (more about that later).  Apparently, the word for chicken is Huhner.  See the chicken on the jar?

However, the toppings were fresh and of good quality and I doctored up the bouillon quite a bit.

Shrimp Soba Noodles

1 bunch scallions, white and green separated, thinly sliced

1 inch fresh ginger, thinly sliced

1 stalk citronelle, cut into four pieces

1 vicious red pepper, seeded and sliced

3 cloves fresh garlic, slivered

2 tbsp sesame oil

2 quarts chicken stock

2 tbsp tamari soy sauce

3 bunches of dried soba noodles

1/2 napa cabbage, sliced and blanched

1/2 lb snow peas, blanched

1/2  lb shrimp, cooked

3 hard boiled eggs, halved

Saute the scallion whites, ginger, citronelle, pepper and garlic in the oil until fragrant.  Pour in the stock and soy sauce, bring to a boil and simmer for about 15 minutes.  Bring the stock back up to a boil, add the noodles and simmer for 4 minutes.

Divide the noodles between 3 bowls.  Top with the cabbage, peas, shrimp and eggs.  Ladle the hot broth over all and sprinkle with green scallion slices.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Japanese, Main dishes, Recipes, Soup and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Shrimp Soba Noodles

  1. cecilia says:

    Lovely noodles but what i am really drooling over is the knives.. What an excellent idea. i am going to look for some for myself. I usually wrap my big knife in my butchers apron and tuck it into my suitcase. Your little case looks great! c

  2. Love the knives… they have an attaché case… WHAT?! Gorgeous food, as per. I’m about to get blogging again :D. I can’t wait. Good to see a new recipe, Rosemary.

  3. Mad Dog says:

    Those look like great noodles – I hope you’ve seen Tampopo, it could be the best food movie ever! I used to be able to get chilli ramen noodles from a Japanese shop in London, they literally blew your head off, but killed a cold dead. Sadly they stopped selling them.
    Thanks for the link ;-)

  4. Yummy! Is about all all I can say. I am heading to Burgundy and Paris in November. SO excited. Any hints you can give would be appreciated.

  5. Before I started reading when I saw the first photo I thought to myself “that would be the perfect dish for me to make right now to sort out my cold” – it´s really gorgeous and I do hope it helped you to feel better :)

  6. I’ve been so sick for a week… I’ve got to try this!

  7. Karista says:

    My kind of meal! This looks so delicious and perfect for tonight. Long work days and evening classes, my body and mind are exhausted. This is the perfect remedy.

  8. Those eggs are gorgeous. Glad you got your knives back. Lovely photos as always.

  9. rsmacaalay says:

    Thats a nice noodle dish! My kind of meal.

  10. canalcook says:

    Hoep you’re feeling better, I’m also recovering from a cold, what is it about this time of year?

  11. Pingback: Pomegranate Shrimp « Allergy Bites

Leave a Reply

