Rosemary Scented Chicken with Brussel Sprouts

Seeing fresh brussel sprouts, made me think of the market in Sens.  I found some in the elegant Boehm supermarket along with rosemary and smoked swine flesh, diced.  

The smoked swine flesh was quite the find since I can’t seem to locate any diced lardon.  And it worked fine with the shallots.

My sous chef, who has been out of sorts since the move, perked up and appeared interested.

But it was a brief touch of nostalgia and she refused a bite.

Rosemary Scented Chicken with Brussel Sprouts

4 whole chicken legs

Salt and pepper

Garlic powder

Piment d’espelette

Flour

1 heaping tbsp melted butter

4 sprigs of fresh rosemary

1/2 cup bacon, diced

3 shallots, thinly sliced

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp butter

1 lb brussel sprouts, cleaned and sliced in halves

Balsamic vinegar

Season the chicken legs with salt, pepper, garlic powder and the piment.  Dust with flour. Put the melted butter in a baking pan, then add the chicken, skin side down.  Tuck in the rosemary sprigs.  Roast at 400 F for 20 minutes.   Turn the chicken skin side up and continue to roast for another 15-20 minutes until golden brown.

While the chicken is roasting, saute the bacon until almost crisp, add the shallots and continue to cook until the shallots are soft.  Remove the shallots and bacon from the pan and set aside.  Wipe the pan out with a paper towel, then melt the butter in the olive oil, add the sprouts and cook until they start to brown.   Add the bacon and shallots,  cooking for about 1 minute.  Place the sprout mixture in a baking pan, sprinkle with the vinegar and place in the oven with the chicken for the last 15 minutes.

Beverage suggestion:  Alsatian Specht

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Rosemary Scented Chicken with Brussel Sprouts

  1. Love the seasoning you have used for the chicken, and a sprout recipe to turn non sprout eaters I think, though I do love them myself so could quite happily eat just a plate of these too.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  2. albertocook says:

    It looks very very tasty

  3. Mad Dog says:

    I love that smoked swine flesh :-)

  4. Lovely combination of flavors!

  5. Tessa says:

    Lovely dish! Your sprouts look beautiful but I have to admit it has been many years since I prepared them. I Never liked them. Your photo makes me want to try them again.

  6. Michelle says:

    Ah, the sous chef … looking so wistful.

  7. Karista says:

    I absolutely love anything with the herb rosemary. And this chicken looks divine. I never liked brussel sprouts. Ever. Until about two years ago. I know that is so weird. But for some reason, all of a sudden I love brussel sprouts. Such a delicious veggie and so complimentary with all types of cuisine. What a beautiful sous chef :)

  8. Swine flesh as a direct translation has a nightmarish quality, whereas “pork” has a more traditional sound. The last shot with the brussels looks fabulous – nice one:)

  9. Pingback: Rosemary Scented Chicken with Brussel Sprouts | À Catanada na Cozinha Magazine | Scoop.it

  10. Villy says:

    Such a delicious dish! I love everything on it!

  11. I’ll have to try this for my husband. He loves Brussels Sprouts. I don’t, they are extremely bitter to me regardless of how I make them. But he likes what I do with them so we grow them.

  12. Candida says:

    What a beautiful dish! Hopefully your sous chef feels at home soon, even if there are no French rooftops to visit.

  13. Gorgeous Rosemary Chicken, Rosemary! Lardons or not, it looks like you made do :-)

  14. B sprouts are way underappreciated. This is a winner.

  15. MMMM! This looks fantastic! I love fresh brussel sprouts.

  16. Wow, this looks so beautiful and delicious!

  17. It’s very rare to find others that like sprouts and do them justice. Looks reflect autumnal food.

    I’m so jealous of you living in Sens, just been to Beaune for my holiday last most. You may find my write up of Lameloise in Chagny interesting. Roll on next summer when I can revisit. Loved it. Although I’d probably become an alcoholic as the wine was the best I’ve ever had.

    Dave.

  18. rsmacaalay says:

    Very nice brussel sprout recipe!

  19. Pingback: Rosemary Scented Chicken | Easy Chicken Recipes

Leave a Reply

