Rindersuppenfleisch

We went to a Turkish restaurant on Saturday night.  It’s right across from the apartment, so we went over to check it out.  Although the food seemed to be toned down for Germans, it was okay and the waiter was very nice.  When he found out that we couldn’t speak any “Germany”, he found a customer who spoke both German and French so that we were able to order.

Undaunted by my lack of Germany, I went to the neighborhood grocery store this morning thinking to make a nice warming soup from whatever looked familiar.  The grocery store, Netto, can also be found in France.  Really basic.  I found a package of meat that looked like stew meat and was marked rindersuppenfleisch.  Child’s play!  Rinderpest is a cattle disease; rinder = cow, pest =pest.   Suppen; the Germans like to put an “en” at the end of words like “toiletten”, so that would leave us with sup or to take soup.  And fleisch sounds like flesh to me.  Beef soup meat!

I kid you not.  I looked it up when I got home :)  I’m reading Germany!

In France and here you can buy a package of vegetables for soup or stews, maybe in the U.S. too.  The package I bought had 3 carrots, parsley, a small slice of celeriac and the white part of a leek.  To this I added garlic and an onion.  I didn’t have a bay leaf but I would have added that.  At first I was going to use potatoes, forgetting that I had bought a package of suppen pasta.

Over the weekend, the spouse and daughter were complaining that they couldn’t get Harry’s bread here in Germany.  Harry’s bread is sliced bread, American style that’s available in France.  Looks like I’ve found a substitute.  This bread declares itself American in 3 different ways on the wrapper.  You have to appreciate that :)

Beef Vegetable Soup

2 tbsp sunflower oil

1 lb of stew beef

1/2 cup celeriac, cubed

1 leek, halved vertically and thinly sliced

3 fresh garlic cloves, chopped

1 onion, halved and sliced

1 handful of parsley leaves

Salt and pepper

2 quarts of water

3 carrots, coarsely diced

1/2 cup small, dried pasta

Brown the beef in the oil, remove from pan and set aside.  Add the celeriac, leek, garlic an onion to the same pan and saute until the onion is soft.  Return the beef to the pan, along with the parsley, salt, pepper and water.  Bring to a boil and simmer for 1 1/2 hours.  Add the carrots and continue to cook for 20-30 minutes.  Add the pasta and cook until the pasta is done.

Beverage suggestion: beer

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Soup and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Rindersuppenfleisch

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Ha ha, you get those vegetable packs in Britain too – I can’t say I’ve ever bought one, but then a lot of my friends can’t understand why I get up early on Sundays to visit the farmers’ market…
    It sounds like a very good soup regardless!
    Oddly I discovered sourdough bread in Georgia, though there was only one pace that sold it back then. I can’t do without it now ;-)

  2. Tessa says:

    Lovely soup! Perfect for a cool fall day.

  3. albertocook says:

    This soup do very autumn
    I like it

  4. It is always interesting shopping in a language you aren’t familiar with. Though I have fun when I start to see the similarities between languages.

  5. I’m not sure that Germany is where your foodie heart is happiest. My daughter has this thing about Harry’s bread, which I can’t understand when living in a country filled with wonderful boulangeries:)

    • And you are right Roger, I would prefer France. But it is what it is and I plan to make a run to Sens in October for pantry supplies, wine and butter. The Saturday fresh market is perfectly adequate for vegetables and fruits. Also, I’m told that there is a good butcher near here. Plan to check that out on the weekend.

      Harry’s bread is the Wonder Bread of France :D

  6. Too funny. Advertising American bread in Germany as if that is a good thing? I suppose that is not different from advertising Budweiser in England….

  7. Michelle says:

    This is why I am so looking forward to your new adventures. Speak Germany. I can’t wait!

  8. Looks delicious! And it appears that you are well on your way to being a fluent Germany speaker ;-)

  9. rsmacaalay says:

    Very nice and simple soup

Leave a Reply

