Had an Apartment in the City

We’ve moved from temporary housing in the crystal palace to temporary housing in an apartment in town center.  I’ve got a kitchen!  There is light for days!  I’ve just got to learn how to use it.  Nice apartment, close to shopping and restaurants.  Our permanent housing will probably not  be ready until the beginning of the year.  I’m good with that, it’s a new experience living in an apartment in the center.  Poor dog, left in the pension in Sens.  Poor cats, on second floor with an alarming drop to the ground and fascinating red, red squirrels in the trees.

I’ve found a really cool store called Bohm, two dots over the “o” and pronounced “boom”.  In the vegetable/fruit section you are assigned a personal shopper who helps you select the produce, weighs and wraps it for you in a pleasing, self-effacing manner.  They don’t do that at Harrods, Roger.  I had so much fun :D  Jade frowned upon my decadence.  Kids today have no “joie de vivre”.  Haters.

Anyway, I’m going back to Sens when Jade is on vacation at the end of the month to pick up my spices and the odd kitchen utensil.  Also to have a coffee.  The executive suites apartment is well furnished but I don’t think that they expect anyone to do real cooking but just to believe that they can :)  I’m having a little language problem but I’m studying market German so that I can get by in the places I’m interested in.  Really, it’s going to be cool!  We’ll bring cases of wine up from France in our new, either Volkswagen Touran or Toyota Rav 4, I’ll cook and visit the 1 and 2 star Stuttgart restaurants, my husband will work and Jade will come on weekends.  Life is grand!

I don’t have any of my plates or props with me but what a great opportunity to add to the collection.  There’s a Villeroy and Boch about 15 minutes from the apartment.  My husband is a little worried but he’s always liked a happy Rosemary and also the food I’ve cooked.  The meal today is totally him, meat and potatoes, Irish guy that he is :)

Pork Tenderloin with Potatoes and Onions

4 or 5 fresh garlic cloves, chopped

8 leaves of fresh basil, chopped

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 pork tenderloin

1 lb tiny new potatoes, halved

2 onions, cut into 8ths

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp fresh thyme leaves

Salt and pepper

Make a paste with the garlic, basil, olive oil, salt, pepper then rub into the tenderloin.  Place the tenderloin in a zip lock, squish around and refrigerate for at least 4 hours.

Toss the potatoes, onions, olive oil, thyme leaves, salt and pepper together, then place in a roasting pan.  Place the marinated tenderloin on top and roast for about 45 minutes in a 425 F oven.  Slice and serve with the potatoes and a green salad.

Wine suggestion:  Red wine with a cork

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Had an Apartment in the City

  1. Mad Dog says:

    That’s excellent news, I was missing your posts, as I’m sure were some other blog friends :-)

  2. Good to hear you have a kitchen again – you must have missed it!

  3. *sigh.. a Villeroy and Boch near by? Lucky girl!! And.. bonus, a kitchen:) xx

  4. Tessa says:

    Glad to see you back! Red wine with a cork… Hilarious!

  5. Michelle says:

    The market differences in Europe are so exasperating. Germany sounds much like Italy. Do they also require the gloves before touching the produce? Glad to know you’re settling in, if only temporarily. We’ve missed you!

    • No gloves Michelle, but I like being helped :) I didn’t know they require gloves in Italy. The French must hate shopping there because they poke and squeeze the color out of something before purchase :)

      • Michelle says:

        Yeah, in every grocery and veg store there are trash cans overflowing with stupid throw-away gloves. So wasteful! Plus, they did that personal shopper thing in the green grocer that we went to. Which had its nice points, as you say, but it also caused me to panic and forget what I came for!

  6. rsmacaalay says:

    Still a nice dish even you don’t have the proper equipment with you

  7. Great post, and I’m glad you’re becoming a good hausfrau!

  8. Karen says:

    You sound so upbeat…I’m very happy for you.

  9. Glad you have a place with light!

  10. Sounds like things are improving. I have to have light!

  11. Glad to hear you have a more permanent? Abode! The pork and potatoes sound divine. Pork is the one meat I still fancy so would like to try this one! We are in Montenegro till tomorrow then back to Dubrovnik. Flying home to Vancouver out of London Oct 18th. Btw, Dalmatia and Montenegro are definitely worth the visit although I DO think Dubrovnik is a little overrated!

    • Thanks Micki. It sounds like you two are having a wonderful time. Stuttgart will be my husband’s retirement post and we hope to see a lot more of Europe during this posting and after.

  12. It´s good to get back to cooking isn´t it?! I know I missed it when I was kitchenless. And I love the idea of a personal food shopper, how marvellous!

Leave a Reply

