Les Bouchots de la Baie du Mont Saint Michel

One of the lessons I learned early on in this gypsy existence of ours; never pack anything that you are unwilling to carry.  I was a little hard headed about learning this lesson but eventually, I did.  So when I boarded the train to go to Sens I had my carry on, my camera loaded hand bag and the cat bag.  As this was sort of borderline and although I was slightly unwilling,  it was doable but bringing my tripod was out of the question.   I knew that Jade’s tripod was at the house and that I could use that.  Which leads to a new lesson; never buy your child a tripod that would be annoying if you had to use it.  Lesson learned.  Jade gets a new tripod for Christmas.

Of course I intended to cook!  After a couple of weeks in this crystal palace of a hotel, I needed the therapy.  My fishmonger had Mont Saint Michel http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mont_Saint-Michel mussels on sale and there was a Wednesday market day.  After shopping, I stopped by Jacques’ for a coffee and he gave me a pungent bulb of garlic.  Perfect!  I think I’ve mentioned before that I first had mussels with peppers in St. Malo which is not far from Mont Saint Michel.

Market Day Mussels

3 or 4 shallots, halved and thinly sliced vertically

3 large cloves garlic, finely chopped

1 yellow bell pepper, diced

1 red bell pepper, diced

1 long red chilli, seeds removed and sliced

1 bunch of cilantro, leaves separated and stems chopped

2 tbsp butter

1 tbsp olive oil

1/2 bottle or 2 cups of drinkable white wine

2 quarts bouchot mussels, scrubbed and debearded

Saute the shallots, garlic, peppers, chilli and cilantro stems in the butter and olive oil until the shallots are soft.  Add the white wine and boil for 3-5 minutes.  Gently stir in the mussels, cover and cook for about 5 minutes until the mussels are open.  Stir in the cilantro leaves and serve immediately with slices of garlic baguette toast.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Les Bouchots de la Baie du Mont Saint Michel

  1. You managed to get a very good picture even with an aggravating tripod. When you’re getting a replacement look at Bogen/Manfrotto. They have good starter legs for around 100$ and you’ll find a good head for around 50$. Ideally buy in New York at somewhere such as Adorama where you’ll find things like the top combo in this link – http://www.adorama.com/catalog.tpl?op=itemlist&cat1=Tripods&cat2=Tripod%20Legs%20%26%20Leg/Head%20Combos&cat3=Leg%20%26%20Head%20Combo%20for%20Still%20%26%20Video&Startat=21

  2. Wonderful :D. Tell me about all this carrying stuff business… my body is ruined after trying to move to Bristol and failing… we have to do it all over again on sunday evening because now we have commitments there :D

  3. Mad Dog says:

    Excellent to have you back on form ;-)

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely post indeed. I hate to admit it but I have 3 tripods. I did not spend enough on any one of them and they all have failings. I am using a lightweight one at present that I know will, one day, topple over and do camera damage. Yet, I endure. It’s the tightwad in me.
    Great to see you back,
    Conor

  5. Tessa says:

    Gorgeous mussels… It’s good to see that you got back into the kitchen and that that you finally got a decent cup of coffee :).

  6. ceciliag says:

    You must be so grateful to get back into a kitchen and i have one of those tripods, i hate it and it hates me.. my father said you should always use a tripod you can barely lift, the one he wanted the most was a surveyors one.. not for carrying on a train though i think! Not that i could carry it at all!! c

  7. Michelle says:

    All’s right with the world.

  8. The mussels looks great and the chili is a nice touch. Glad you had a great trip!

  9. rsmacaalay says:

    Love mussels, specially with white wine

  10. Tell me about carrying/packing! Wonderful shots though and a great recipe :)

  11. Oh Katherine is getting camera equipment for Christmas then too. She’ll, cough, love that! Beautiful as always.

  12. Wonderful! Great food photography – as always!

  13. Yum, being from Brussels, I’m a big fan of mussels!

  14. I adore mussels and these look perfect and wonderful. A nice shot, so obviously you got the tripod to work!

  15. Pingback: PAELLA

  16. Pingback: mussels with peppers, onions & herb butter - North End Fish

Leave a Reply

