Rare

I swear to God, this is going to be my last complaint until I get into a house and am sure I hate it here.  Sunshine and light after this post, I promise.

Tonight we went into a little pub for a drink and something light for dinner.  I ordered a cheeseburger.  After the waitress took my order for the burger and left, I realized that she hadn’t asked me how I wanted it cooked, so I ran after her and asked her to have it grilled rare.

“Rare!” she howled, “Are you sure?!”  I told her that of course I was sure, that’s why I had followed her to make certain.  Guys!  You won’t believe this or at least I didn’t, she told me that as a matter of course all meats are cooked to well done and that that was why she had not asked.  Our faces must have been comical, disgust on hers and horror on mine.

The German people will not be allowed to cook any meats for me that should be juicy again!  I thought those lamb chops were a little overcooked!  If it’s stewed, braised or boiled they can handle it.  I’ve heard that there is a 2 star Michelin here in Stuttgart.  I’m going to have to go over there just to see if Michelin stars are different in Germany than they are in France.

My cheeseburger was done, no pink, but even then the waitress couldn’t wipe the look of disgust from her face, nor I the incredulous horror from mine.  Barbarians!

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Food and Wine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Rare

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Maybe it depends on the quality of the mince to start with! I’m sure you’ll find the Michelin comme tous les Michelins – excellent ;-)

  2. MixerUpper says:

    Well, I know you miss France, so perhaps you are being a bit harsh? My first advice is don’t order hamburgers in Germany. Despite their name, they are not all that popular in Deutschland. Next time, go to a good restaurant and try a nice, rare steak with Kreuterbutter. Oh, and don’t be sad. :-)

  3. Tessa says:

    Well, let’s turn this into a positive. Maybe the waitress knew something about the burger from that kitchen that you did not want to know…

  4. I think you’ll find the stars are similar to those drawn on the side of fighter planes denoting “kills”. Good luck:)

  5. You´re allowed to complain – as long as you laugh a little while you do it (that´s how I manage things anyway)!

  6. Oh no! That is not a good start to discovering good food in Germany. I think you’ve had bad luck with the restaurants so far as I know you can get yummy well cooked food there. Hopefully it’s better next time!

  7. Karen says:

    I know it is hard but you will discover the perfect little restaurant. As to the Michelin starred ones, I don’t think you will be disappointed…at least I hope not. There are some outstanding ones.

    • Coming from you, that’s good to hear. I know that you know your way around Europe. Looking forward to the 2 star Michelin.

      • Karen says:

        I haven’t stopping in Stuttgart but I can’t wait to here about the two star. I’m going to be driving by you new town soon and staying in the Black Forest. I’ll be doing a post on a very special occasion restaurant.

Leave a Reply

