Coffee

I miss my little French town, Sens.  If you wanted a coffee, all you would have to say is, “I’ll have a coffee” and that was that.  It came with a cube of sugar, in a tiny cup with chocolate and/or a sweet cookie.  

Now here in Stuttgart, I have to do so much explaining that I don’t want the coffee anymore.   Also, most of the cups are big.

I miss M. Parret.  

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Coffee

  1. These were my worst fears for your time in jolly Germany. It can only get better:)

  2. I think Julia Child felt the same when Paul was posted to Germany. We will all miss Sens.

  3. Sorry to hear you have changed countries. Adapt adapt adapt, I guess.

  4. Karista says:

    I can’t imagine anything being quite like Sens. Hopefully you’ll be back soon. I certainly haven’t done the traveling and adapting that you’ve done, but in the 26 years I’ve been with Ranger Craig, we’ve physically moved 13 times. I completely agree with you… I’m done. :)

  5. Mad Dog says:

    I imagine going from France to Germany is a tough move – the best thing to do is to look for new things and take your coffee at home ;-)

  6. I am sorry that you are having a rough time lately. I can’t imagine moving so much, though the adventure seems tempting. There really is something to be said for “home” being in one location. I hope you find something or someone or some place there that becomes a substitute “home”.

  7. I loved France. Never made it to Germany unfortunately, but I don’t have the same feeling for it.

  8. Tessa says:

    Awwww… I’m sure that M. Parret misses you too. Like you said above, once you get out of the hotel and in a house, things will begin to look up. And, make sure when you find the house, it comes equipped with a really good espresso maker.

  9. I so know what you mean. Even in the UK where they do lovely espresso, we are used to Spanish coffe which is a little “longer” but still strong and sometimes with a dash of something in it – we can´t get it in England and I don´t wantg half a litre of coffee in a huge bowl :(

Leave a Reply

