Sunday Roesti et al in Strasbourg

One last hedonistic day in Strasbourg.  Roesti from the Alsace is a mega-casserole made with hash browns and various toppings.  Very, very filling.  I’m going to make this but reduce the hash browns by half.  I know I’m supposed to be packing for Germany but I lack enthusiasm.

Hamburger with fries.  I’m never going to make a hamburger with this much ground steak.

Farmer’s omelette.  Good.

Profiteroles.  Overkill.

Very pretty Cafe Gourmand.  Okay, back to the suitcases.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Sunday Roesti et al in Strasbourg

  1. Tessa says:

    That’s quite the monster burger!

  2. I think you had a very productive day, indeed! I love that casserole!

  3. Villy says:

    What a meal!! The burger looks divine!

  4. Mad Dog says:

    That’s what I call a good Sunday lunch ;-)

  5. ceciliag says:

    The omelette was just the right size for me, and what super shots rosemary, and now germany!! yay.. c

  6. They really eat serious amounts of food the further you go east in Europe. I couldn’t believe the size of some of the dishes in Vienna. Suet dumplings, stuffed with more suet, the size of your head in cream sauce followed by Sachertorte and all washed down with litres of fresh young white wine. The people are big:)

  7. Jon says:

    Torturous shots, I’m hungry!

  8. Wow. Decadent! Whoever said portions in France were small! Thanks for sharing your fuel for packing :-)

  9. Paula says:

    The hamburger is too big!! I love the roesti, and that omelette has a nice look ;)

  10. Some of portion sizes look like they were done stateside! They looked yummy though. :)

  11. The Cafe Gourmand looks wonderful.

  12. My oh my – but every once in while….:)

Leave a Reply

