Garden Herb Duck Breast with Roasted Pumpkin

Remember my little pumpkin?

As I dashed in and out of the house, to and fro to Strasbourg, it was hard to forget.  So orange!  However, it was starting to resemble a piece of furniture.  Off with it’s head!

I had some few fresh herbs that hadn’t croaked from neglect and, of course, garlic and olive oil.  Can’t be bothered?  Roast!

Good enough to share with les Parrets.  Jade would have loved this :(

And then there is the ubiquitous, freezer duck breast.

Garden Herb Duck Breast and Roasted Pumpkin

1 duck breast

Olive oil

Salt and pepper

Mixed fresh garden herbs (thyme, sage, rosemary, whatever)

1 small pumpkin, seeded and cut into chunks, skin on

3-4 garlic cloves, slivered

Score the duck fat on one side in a diamond pattern.  Rub with a little olive oil, salt, pepper and some herbs.  Set aside.

Mix the pumpkin chunks with salt, pepper, some herbs, the garlic and 2 tbsp of olive oil.  Place on a baking sheet and roast at 400 F for 25 minutes, stirring once.

Sear the duck breast in a hot skillet, 5-6 minutes, turn, 3-4 minutes.  Remove from the pan and allow to rest for a couple of minutes before slicing.  Serve with the pumpkin.

Wine suggestion:  Petit Chablis

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes, side dish, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Garden Herb Duck Breast with Roasted Pumpkin

  1. Mad Dog says:

    That duck looks perfect ;-)

  2. Yum! I adore that pumpkin-shaped pot!

  3. Looks good, as pumpkin always does. That’s where pumpkin ends for me – it’s a trollop of a pin up and no good will come of any closer relationship than just looking. The duck, however, I know to be an honest to goodness beauty who will not disappoint any of the senses:)

  4. Wowee! What a colour… that’s a truly exceptional fruit!

  5. Jon says:

    excellent idea with the roasted pumpkin!

  6. My kids had duck for the first time when we took them to Paris last year. I usually make it with my homemade plum sauce but this looks really good, especially for the fall. I look forward to trying this.

  7. Tessa says:

    How beautiful! I love the vibrant orange color of the pumpkin with the duck breast. Delicious!

  8. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely everything. The pumpkin looks great (I did similar with sweet potato at the weekend). The duck looks awesome. I am usually under pressure to cook it more than you have.
    Beautiful,
    Conor

  9. This is such a perfect meal!

  10. Roast pumpkin is delicious and yours looks wonderful and perfect with the duck breast cooked till it’s just pink. Our pumpkins are just ripening now and this is one of the combinations I look forward to in autumn and winter!

  11. The roasted pumpkin looks wonderful!

  12. Jack says:

    Roasted pumpkin with sage, olive oil, salt and pepper; looks delicious! I can’t wait to try this as an alternative to the Jamaican-style soup I always make with pumpkins

  13. My husband and I met you on the train from Paris to Munich …remember the “Canadians, eh?”. Really like your blog and have posted it on my Facebook. Your recipes look amazing although a little too “meaty” for my liking!…..Micki

Leave a Reply

