Eating Around: Tung Yuen, Strasbourg

Really, there’s only so much heavy, pork and carbohydrate overkill Alsatian food that you can eat when it’s 34 degrees (Celsius, Roger) outside.  Jade, of course, had to have one more ham hock before she went back to school, but she’s young.  I made her wait until Sunday.

When she got off the bus from school at 6:30 p.m. on Friday, she was ravenous.  She complained that the school cafeteria food lacked imagination and that she had skipped a few meals.  Fearing for her health, I took her to a roesti restaurant, where they serve hash brown potatoes with a choice of toppings; bacon, cheese, egg, ham, steak, etc.  She was pleased but I was miserably over full.  I vowed, then and there, that the next day, Saturday, we would just have to find something else; regular French, Asian, American, but not Alsatian.

The school does not do laundry, so Saturday morning was laundry day.  On the way to the laundromat, we saw a fantastic church first constructed in the 7th century called Saint Pierre le Jeune.  If you are ever in Strasburg, do take the time to see this church.  It was first built as a Catholic church, then divided and shared with Protestant worshipers, then given over entirely to the Protestants when the new Catholic church was built.  I’m going back for a second look and interior pictures!

When we got to the laundromat, there was this horrid, reeking drunk man inside who wanted to help us with our laundry.  He sprayed when he talked.  Bleah!  We jammed the clothes in a machine and decided to walk around the neighborhood until they were done.  That’s how we discovered the Chinese restaurant, Tong Yuen.  Thank you Mr. Alcoholic Man.

The Tung Yuen restaurant is a modest, reasonably priced, authentic Chinese restaurant.  The food was fantastic and they helped us move table 3 times to avoid the glare from the sun.

I’m always afraid that I’m not going to get a drinkable wine in places like this, but the Cotes de Provence Rose was fine.  We began with an assortment of appetizers.

The stuffed crab claws were stellar and like some we had eaten in Beijing.

I love steamed dumplings and these were very good, served with a spicy soy sauce in rustic, tin steamers.

For our main course we had noodles, Peking duck and shrimp flambe.  So good!

We ended the meal with coffee and lemon sorbet.

As we were leaving, the owner showed us his live lobsters, just waiting to die for a good cause.  We are going back!

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Asian, Chinese, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Eating Around: Tung Yuen, Strasbourg

  1. Wonderful looking food there, looks a real gem of a find. Those crab claws look really good, and I love the steamed dumplings in the rustic tin steamer.
    A joy to read and look at as usual.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  2. ceciliag says:

    Oh beautiful, lucky you were chased off by the local drunk! Jade is such a beautiful girl and I have some ham hocks in my freezer .. any ideas? c

  3. Mad Dog says:

    I’m not surprised that Jade complains about the school food after your fantastic home cooking!
    Great church and gargoyles, I do hope you’ll be sharing the lobster here ;-)

  4. Great picture of the gargoyles. The lemon sorbet looks so refreshing!

  5. Maya Oryan says:

    Simply lovely! Beautiful pictures too.

  6. Stephan says:

    Wonderful! Some of the best Chinese food I ever had was in Paris. I wish I had asked for the recipe for a dish that translated as “One Thousand Perfume Chicken”. It was heavenly and there is nothing like it here in the states.
    Stephan

  7. I’m feeling a little jealous! Gee, thanks, Rosemary!

  8. Michelle says:

    I’ve eaten at that restaurant! We spent a month in Alsace a few years back and, like you, got a bit tired of the local foodstuffs.

  9. joshuafagans says:

    I may make it to Strasbourg in two weeks for a day or two. Can you recommend any restaurants?

  10. Eric Benac says:

    Argh now I’m hungry.

  11. Very nice and the dimsum looks very yummy

  12. That all looks so good – I haven´t had breakfast yet but this has made me hungry! Bad news that Saturdays will be taken up with laundry every week though :(

  13. Karista says:

    I always know I’m going to be hungry after reading one of your posts! The stuffed crab claws are making me drool.

  14. Paula says:

    Oh, I understand so much Jade. When I came here to study the career, first year I was at a students residence, and I didn’t like the food, so lots of days I skipped a meal, or eat something out of home…

    It’s normal you’re afraid, but I’m sure you have teach her how to eats, and at the start is difficult, but then, she’ll solve it, as I did it. Because she’s not going to love not eating, or eating bad she’s not used to it, I suppose.

    I love Alsacia, and I love the food, and that knuckle looks so delicious!!
    The chinese restaurant also looks nice, but I can choose it when I see that meat!!

  15. Karen says:

    Poor Jade, she has been spoiled with all your wonderful cooking. Nice to have found a good Chinese restaurant. I can’t believe how hot it has been. We will be in that area in two weeks…hope the temps go back to normal.

  16. rsmacaalay says:

    What a coincidence I just had hocks for dinner!

Leave a Reply

