On The Road Again

A noisette of lamb is the filet mignon portion.  Racing through the store, trying to find something for my train bento tomorrow, I lucked up on some lamb noisettes.  They are very nice :)  I also grabbed some marinated shrimp, seafood salad and French peasant potato salad to fill up the box.  Not Japanese, but I did sprinkle some furikake on the shrimp and packed soy sauce.  The following is my “can’t be bothered” recipe for the lamb.  This makes enough lamb for 2-3 bento boxes.

Bento Box Lamb Noisettes

6 lamb noisettes

Salt and pepper

1 1/2 tbsp butter

1 large shallot, sliced vertically

2 garlic cloves, sliced vertically

A generous glug of Beaujolais wine

Season the lamb with salt and pepper, then quickly saute the noisettes in the butter until cooked very rare.  Remove and slice into chunks.  Add the shallot and garlic to the pan and saute until soft.  Pour in the wine and reduce until syrupy.  Return the lamb chunks to the pan and toss in the syrup for about a minute or less.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in bento, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to On The Road Again

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Not to mention Willie Nelson ;-)
    That’s another great bento!

  2. You are becoming, or have become, the Bento Queen. Excellent stuff. I’m such a crap traveller that I’d never get that together.

    • The first blog I started following was about bentos. I would make daily bentos for my husband and myself :) Fun. The bento box in the picture was given to me by a Japanese diplomat in Senegal.

  3. ceciliag says:

    I love these bento boxes, I must find some for when i am travelling next.. this lamb is rather lovely.. c

  4. Tessa says:

    You pack the most delicious looking bento boxes!

  5. I love your bento.. and wonder about the poor travelers sitting next to you on the train with their dried sandwiches in paper bags and plastic wrap, lol! They must be so envious!! Love the song!

  6. What a clever idea – bento boxes for travel. Beats a soggy ham and cheese sandwich any day! I want to come travelling with you!

  7. Carine says:

    What a beautiful and yummy bento!
    I was thinking of preparing one recently to bring to work (it’s been months since I’ve prepared one) so I take this post as a sign I should ;-)

  8. kiisu23 says:

    Looks and sounds delicious!!!

  9. Making your own bento box is such a vast improvement on making some butties and wrapping them in clingfilm. Impressed !

  10. A train bento is a fabulous idea!

Leave a Reply

