I’m Leaving on the Zap Train

Well, it’s finally come down to this.  I’ve put the dog in the doggy hotel, informed the cats that M. Parret will be passing by from time to time to open cans and bags for them, and encouraged Jade on her September 4th entry in boarding school.  Now we’re going to get on the Zap train to Strasbourg, go into a hotel, shop for school supplies and, finally, on Tuesday I’ll leave her in the hands of a bunch of semi-fanatic Catholics.  Get thee to a nunnery :D  But seriously.  I’ll then get back on the Zap train and return to Sens until Friday, when I’ll return to Strasbourg to pick Jade up for the weekend and we’ll loiter around Strasbourg, probably eating and buying things we think we need.  Back to school she’ll go on Monday, back down the road I’ll go and my husband will be waiting for me in Sens on the 9th, our 36th wedding anniversary.  Champagne!

This ridiculous trek between Sens and Strasbourg will continue until around the end of September when my husband starts his work in Stuttgart, Germany and we check into a hotel until they find us a house.  I will teach Jade how to take the train from Strasbourg to Stuttgart.  Scary!  But as David Chapelle says, “How old is 15 anyway?” :)

The reason we’re taking the Zap train instead of the Zen train is because we think the Zen is a bit exaggerated; total silence is imposed by people haters with closet sociopathic tendencies.  I swear to you, the last time I took a picture on the Zen train, the passenger in the seat in front gave me a murderous look and insisted I stop the “noise”.  Hater.  The Zen and Zap train are both first class options that are substantially discounted because you print your own ticket.  Such a deal!  But you can talk on the Zap train.

Anyway, I made this food today because I’m used to making food and I took these pictures today because I’m used to taking pictures.  Might as well blog it :)  I served this with roasted cauliflower.  Good.

Herb de Provence Duck Breast with Mushrooms

1 duck breast

Salt and pepper

A mixture of fresh marjoram, thyme, savory, basil, rosemary, sage, and fennel

2-3 shallots, slice vertically

2 tbsp butter

1 lb mushrooms

Salt and pepper

A splash or two of white wine

Score the duck breast fat side in a diamond pattern, season with salt and pepper, then rub in the herb mixture.  Set aside.

Saute the shallots in the butter until soft.  Add the mushrooms and cook until coated with the butter.  Add salt and pepper.  Splash in the white wine and boil for two minutes.  Set aside and keep warm.

Sear the duck breast, fat side down, for 4 minutes, turn and continue to cook for another 3-4 minutes.  Allow to rest for a few minutes, then slice and serve with the mushrooms.

Wine suggestion:  Cremant de Bourgogne

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to I’m Leaving on the Zap Train

  1. 36 years. Nice. Congratulations.

  2. Why not just run end to end marathons – it’d be less tiring, Give Jade our best and tell her that I survived boarding school with the Jesuits ( there are no madder Catholics) from age 7 to age 18. It can be done:)

  3. You sound like you are going to be doing a good impression of a yo-yo!! …. but ssshhhhh yo-you quietly :)

  4. Mad Dog says:

    Wow that sounds hectic. I’m sure Jade will cope with the train – I went all over England (alone) from the age of 14 by train and Germans are very helpful (most of them speak English too). I’m working with a German film crew at present and they are all brilliant ;-)
    Hopefully boarding school will be exciting and it won’t be like the old school 10 years hard labour that it used to be in England.
    BTW lovely duck!

  5. Fay says:

    The new posting sounds exciting but not too exciting, compared to some other places. Peaceful. Hope you enjoy your time there. Best wishes.

  6. ambrosiana says:

    Thanks for the tip on Zap and Zen trains! I will definitely take the Zap train! Cool post! Send all my luck to Jade and tell her I also went to a catholic schoo – the Salesians in Honduras.

  7. With how hectic your life is, I might suggest more than just “a splash or two of wine”!! What a beautiful dish, keep ‘em coming!!

    -Shannon

  8. Paula says:

    Wow, it must be hard for you two, but it will be also a good experience. She will learn so much!! And, even if you think it’s not posible, I’m sure you will love you even more. I also travelled to study, and I feel that.

    Congratulations for the wed anniversary ;) And nice recipe, I love duck, so I have to try this!!

  9. First off, that food looks seriously good, Rosemary. Secondly, I hope everything goes smoothly… it sounds a little… complex. Anyway, happy anniversary!

  10. The duck looks wonderful! Enjoy your commuting! I’m sure Jade will be fine – I used to travel from my much hated boarding school in Wales to my parents’ home in Turkey when I was that age…although it was in the sixties when travel was rarer but more civilised!

  11. This looks lovely and zen-like:D I wish I had a zen house!

  12. rsmacaalay says:

    That duck looks amazing.
    Have a safe and nice trip!

  13. Thanks for the travel tips about the Zap and Zen trains! :) I hope you are able to enjoy the commuting and can use the time to create new, amazing recipes! The duck looks wonderful.

Leave a Reply

