Char Sui Pork Chops

Well, I’ve made our reservations on the Zen train for the boarding school in Alsace, I’ve booked the dog into the Doggy Pension for next Tuesday, I’ve gotten the French doctor to sign off on a “good health” certificate for Jade and I’ve marked all her clothes with indelible black ink.  The weather is reasonable today so we decided to go to the market, have coffee and people watch for a while.

Nothing says Fall is coming like cute little potiron pumpkins.  I had to buy one!  And a whole bunch of other stuff.  What the heck, I’m not leaving for a week :D  The Vietnamese lady was back from vacation and so I bought some of her prepared noodles to go with my thawing, freezer pork chops.

Easy Char Sui Pork Chops

4 pork chops

Char sui sauce (homemade or good quality jar)

Spring onions, sliced

Cilantro leaves

Marinate the chops in the char sui sauce for at least 2 hours or overnight.  Roast in a 400 F oven, on a roasting pan rack for 25 minutes, turn, brush with marinade and continue to roast for an additional 15 minutes.  Sprinkle with the onions and cilantro and serve with Vietnamese noodles.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Char Sui Pork Chops

  1. Let me know if you would be interested in submitting a post on “Continental Food” .Send me the link to it with a short bio of yours to ver.akanksha@gmail.com before Aug, 30th

  2. ceciliag says:

    What an adventure Jade is embarking on. How exciting. I wish i had a noodle lady! c

  3. Tessa says:

    Lovely chops! I’m curious to see what you are going to do with those delicious looking pears.

  4. kat says:

    I like char sui pork, so why not pork chops! Lovely idea!

  5. Mad Dog says:

    Good luck Jade and lovely pork ;-)

  6. The little potiron pumpkins do look cute. I am pleased to hear that the Vietnamese lady is back from vacation. Thanks for the tip about BBOOKS.

  7. rsmacaalay says:

    I never thought of making pork chop char sui, I always used pork belly

    • It’s not a real char sui. It’s just using the sauce as a glaze and it gives the char sui flavor. The way I like to make char sui is by hanging marinated pork pieces/belly from hooks in the oven and slow cooking it.

  8. ambrosiana says:

    This looks delicious and different!

  9. Karista says:

    As always the pictures are divine! I too love Fall and can’t wait for our first pumpkins. The pork and noodles look delicious!

Leave a Reply

