Spaghetti Squash with Pan Fried Cod

The forecast for today was 80 degrees F, so I thought I might cook, early.  We went to the market around 8 a.m. and I found a spaghetti squash.  I’ve always wanted to cook one of these!  The freezer yielded up some nice cod fillets.

I think it’s almost miraculous the way the squash shreds into spaghetti like strands.  I didn’t really believe it until today :)  Most people say that the squash is tasteless but I don’t think so.  It’s just mild, and with salt, pepper and butter, it’s a great dish!  However, I listened to the masses and made a sauce from some things in the fridge.

I cooked the squash for an hour but next time, I think I’ll cut it back to 50 minutes.

If you don’t want to bother with the fish, the sauce and squash is a fine lunch.

Spaghetti Squash with Pan Fried Cod

1 whole spaghetti squash

4 cod fillets

Emeril’s essence

1/2 cup bacon, diced

3 tbsp olive oil

1 red onion, coarsely chopped

1 red pepper, coarsely diced

3-4 really large garlic cloves, chopped

20 multi-colored cherry tomatoes, halved

1 large tomato, seeded and coarsely diced

2-3 basil leaves, chopped

Salt and pepper

1/3 cup red wine

1/4 cup parmesan, grated

2 tbsp basil, chopped

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp butter

Poke the whole squash all over with a knife to release the steam.  Cook in a 375 F oven for 50 minutes.

Sprinkle the cod fillets with Emeril’s essence and set aside.

Cook the bacon until crisp and brown, remove from the pan and drain.  Add the olive oil to the pan, the onion and pepper, then cook until the onion is soft.  Add the garlic and cook until fragrant.  Add the tomatoes, basil leaves, salt and pepper, then cook for 5 minutes.  Add the red wine and boil for an additional 2-3 minutes.  Set aside and keep warm.

Remove the squash from the oven, cut in half vertically and take out the seeds and random pulp in the centers.  Shred the squash by scraping the sides with the times of a fork, put the strands in a large bowl and immediately toss with the bacon, parmesan and the 2 tbsp of basil.  Set aside and keep warm.

Add the olive oil and butter to a clean skillet and pan fry the fillets for 3-4 minutes per side.  Serve with the squash and sauce.

Wine suggestion:  Fleurie

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Spaghetti Squash with Pan Fried Cod

  1. Mad Dog says:

    The temperature and humidity dropped overnight here – back to cooking!
    That sounds like a fab lunch, your freezer is so giving ;-)

    • Yes this temperature, while still a little warm, is a lot more reasonable. Otherwise, I’d rather starve to death then cook. But then, there’s no worries. France has traiteurs :)

  2. Tessa says:

    What a beautiful tomato sauce! The cherry tomatoes really add a lot of flavor. Delicious!

  3. putneyfarm says:

    The photos of the sauce are lovely…as is the recipe…

  4. ledbymystomach says:

    Yum!!

  5. I gres spaghetti squash last year, and when I cooked them I didn’t really manage to get the spaghetti like strings. Did you cut them in half to bake? Curious, as I like the idea !

  6. I love spaghetti squash, fond memories of eating them as a kid with butter, salt and pepper and a little grated cheese. Love that you have made a sauce for it too. My dad used to boil them, which removed a lot of the flavour, but I always bake mine halved in the oven with a little water now.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  7. I have not heard of spaghetti squash – I would like to try it.

  8. Pingback: Spaghetti Squash with Honey and Feta | Andrea's Garden Cooking

Leave a Reply

