Chicken Salad a la Frigidaire

Today it’s 90 F and humid in an ugly, Washington, D.C. kind of way.  This is why all the French run out of France in August!  It finally dawns on me.  I thought they left in August to get in vacation time before school starts.  Not.  I get it and I’m leaving with the French next August.  It’s much cooler in Pennsylvania!

I made a pretty little salad today from leftover roasted chicken and some odds and ends in the refrigerator.  One of those ends were spicy, little stuffed peppers that I believe are Italian and called vinegar peppers.  I wonder what the Italian name is… I found the rose colored glass bowl at a flea market yesterday before it got too hot to live.

Anyway, I’m not cooking until the temperature drops by at least 10 degrees.  Freezer be damned!

Chicken Salad

Fresh lettuce

2 cups roasted chicken, sliced/diced whatever

2 tomatoes, sliced

1/2 red onion, thinly sliced

4 hard boiled eggs, sliced

1/2 cup roquefort cheese, crumbled

1 package stuffed vinegar peppers.

Vinaigrette

Put some lettuce into 4 salad bowls.  Arrange the chicken, tomatoes, onion, eggs, cheese and peppers on top of the lettuce in an attractive manner.  Drizzle with vinaigrette.

Beverage suggestion:  Cremant Rose

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes, Salad and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Chicken Salad a la Frigidaire

  1. No question that we are “Salad Days” at the moment:)

  2. ….should read in “Salad Days” as per Jerome Kern’s musical….

  3. Debra says:

    yum that looks divine !

  4. Mad Dog says:

    Your fridge has done you proud. Hopefully the freezer will provide some ice cream ;-)

  5. putneyfarm says:

    Love the name of the dish…funny but most people under 30 might not know what it means…

  6. Conor Bofin says:

    I know what it means. We had one beside the mangle…..
    Best,
    Conor

  7. Your salad looks perfect for a hot summer day and I love the name. Frigidaire cookies…Frigidaire pie…yep, it works!

  8. Brava! I hate hot weather. It just floors me and I just want to spend the day in the shower. This looks like just the thing to eat before another cold one :-)

  9. Your beautiful pictures make it look so inviting, especially on a hot day!

  10. Looks wonderful! I’ll have to try this one and serve it to my house guests this weekend!

  11. P. J. Miller says:

    I’m hungry looking at this pictures, let me try this at home…look so yummy

Leave a Reply

