Juicy, Deep Fried Gillardeau Oysters

Now I know some of you Gallophile, oyster connoisseurs (Roger) are just going to shudder and perhaps mutter one or two shocked “ooh la’s”, when you read that I’ve had the Gaul :)  to deep fry one of France’s most venerated oysters, the Gillardeau.  Ooh la!  They were so good!

What I really wanted was the #2 Gillardeau, larger and juicier, but they weren’t available today.  I had to settle for #3s.  Still, no complaints, these were superb.  Make some homemade tartar sauce, a fresh salad, grab a bottle of Chablis and enjoy!  We did.

Deep Fried Oysters

24 #3 or #2 Gillardeau oysters or whatever you can find

Emeril’s essence

1/4 cup bread crumbs

1/2 cup flour

Peanut oil

Homemade tartar sauce http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/04/13/the-perfect-fish-cake-with-homemade-tartar-sauce/

Season the oysters with the essence and set aside for 15 minutes.  Mix the bread crumbs with the flour and dredge the oysters in a bowl or plastic bag.  Fry in the peanut oil and serve with tartar sauce and a salad.

Wine suggestion:  Chablis

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Juicy, Deep Fried Gillardeau Oysters

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I’ll eat Roger’s oysters, they look fantastic!

  2. Wow! These look awesome! I’ve really only had raw oysters before; wishing I could give these a try. Glad you provided the link for homemade tartar sauce– it’s MUST have!

  3. joshuafagans says:

    I adore deep fried oysters. These look wonderful.

  4. I have to say that I’m weeping. I’ve only had the good fortune to eat the oysters of Gillardeau on a few occasions. They are so good cru, that I cannot imagine cooking them – but I’m sure not going to argue with you, Rosemary:)

  5. Oh my! Those look sooo good! I love oysters anyway too :-)

  6. Conor Bofin says:

    Raw or cooked beautifully, I am jealous. Now that I am not over there, I am left with no oyster options at all!
    Best,
    Conor

  7. ambrosiana says:

    Now that is a nice recipe! I am not very fond of oysters but the fried version sounds fantastic!

  8. Beautiful food photography, as always. The homemade tartar sauce sounds fabulous!

  9. These look and sound fantastic! I like oysters raw, and cooked too – they’re different but still delicious, ant that tartar sauce too.

  10. Good morning, I featured this recipe on my blog today for my weekly seafood round-up. It looks great, thanks for allowing me to share! Here is the link: http://carriesexperimentalkitchen.blogspot.com/2012/08/week-31-seafood-frenzy-friday.html

  11. Pingback: Week 31: Seafood Frenzy FridayCarrie’s Experimental Kitchen |

Leave a Reply

