Shark Burger

Yesterday, although I put all 6 of the shark fillets in marinade, I only cooked two.  http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/08/15/fresh-shark-with-avocado-tomato-salsa/.  I had an idea for today that I wanted to try out with the remaining four.  Shark burgers!

These were good.  I just coarsely ground the shark in a food processor, added some bread crumbs and sauteed shallots, then pan fried.  My tomato and avocado salsa from yesterday was still bright and fresh looking so I topped the burgers with that.  Pretty cool.

Shark Burgers

4 shark fillets marinated (see above)

2 shallots, minced

Butter

1/4 cup fine bread crumbs

Tomato avocado salsa (see above)

4 hamburger buns, toasted

Cut the fillets into cubes and coarsely chop in a food processor.  Set aside.  Saute the shallots in a little butter, allow to cool, then add to the fish, along with the bread crumbs.  Mix well and form into four patties.

Lightly oil a frying pan with olive oil and fry the patties 4 minutes per side.  Place on the buns, top with salsa and enjoy.

Beverage suggestion:  Ice cold beer


About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Recipes, Sandwich and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Shark Burger

  1. I love the little langoustine on the salad, he looks like he is swimming in a sea of lettuce!!! This looks divine!

  2. Debra says:

    Tomato avocado salsa looks divine !

  3. Wow! I’ve never tasted shark before. What does it taste like?

  4. Karen says:

    That sounds like a terrific lunch.

  5. Very pretty picture – even better without the green glass:-)

  6. Tessa says:

    Shark burgers! What a cool idea!

  7. putneyfarm says:

    Very cool- and we like the sound of that ice cold beer with the burger…

  8. This is really cool. I have never even had shark but I am sure it is great. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  9. I have never heard of shark burgers before – you really are at the cutting edge of cuisine! (excuse the pun).

  10. Conor Bofin says:

    Nice idea with the shark. The Dublin Bay Prawn (I will be posting in a week or so about them) is an excellent touch too.

  11. Mad Dog says:

    I was wondering what happened to the others, but I know your freezers get hungry ;-)
    I bet they were very good with the scampi.

  12. rsmacaalay says:

    Very nice plating! Love that scampi

  13. Pingback: 7 Foods a Nutritionist Would Never Eat But I Have . . . And They Are So Yummy! | Food Aficionados

  14. Hi Rosemary! I just wanted to let you know that I featured your this post on my blog (http://wp.me/s2ukAU-post11). Your recipe is like the first shark burger I had a few years ago. I just had to share. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

